Caitlin

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/06/2019 - 15/10/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi, I'm an American who grew up in Hong Kong, loves to travel, cook and eat delicious food, and is very passionate about conservation. I studied environmental management at the University of Otago and have since worked in environmental education, endangered species surveys and outdoor guiding. I am interested in learning new skills in food production, and living off grid, as well as meeting new people. I am fluent in Spanish and play a ukulele. I am an unfussy vegetarian and I love animals and being outdoors.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have experience helping family renovate their house including use of table saw, hand saw, nail gun, demolition, wall building, tile laying, sanding, finishing. I volunteered for a few weeks with habitat for humanity building houses: mixing and pouring concrete, laying bricks, and working effectively as a team. In addition to some personal gardening I have organised and participated in many working bees planting native trees, poisoning and removing invasive plants and pine trees, and some track making.
    In my work as an educator I've worked with kids of all ages in Spanish and English teaching languauge, math and about the environment. I love pets, I have dogsat for friends and while living in Mexico I rescued many street cats, cleaning them up, treating them for parasites, getting them sterilised and finding them homes.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish

  • Age

    30

  • What else ...

    I play a ukulele, have been learning to knit, I love a good card game.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (eggs, fish and dairy ok)

Photos

Mountain biking on the Old Coach Road in Tongariro National Park
Some steps I built on a friend's property

Feedback