Catrine

From: Denmark

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Botswana, Egypt, France, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Lebanon, Monaco, Mozambique, Norway, Palestine, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Zimbabwe

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/07/2018 - 31/01/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    591

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello there, my name is Cat, and I've just finished studying Arabic in Copenhagen.
    I absolutely love being active, and growing up I was always on at least a couple of different sports teams at a time, but in the past few years I've taken a liking to the more "extreme" sports that are on offer, so my ideal WorkAway place would be somewhere I could continue to live an active lifestyle whilst experiencing a new culture.
    I had a rather nomadic childhood moving between homes in Denmark, Thailand and Switzerland, attending both an international school in Thailand and national schools in the other countries, and this has left me with a happy-go-lucky attitude and an openness towards new and exciting experiences. However, it's also left me a tiny bit restless and with the need to keep traveling, so I’ve been coming back to WorkAway on and off every time I’ve had some months off for the past many years now, and hopefully I’ll keep doing it for many years to come!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I spent about half of my high school years working part time as a receptionist and a cleaner at a hotel and conference center, and then joined them full time for two months during my summer vacation before I started university (letter of recommendation I available, if needed), so I'm used to accommodating guests and taking charge when problems arise. I studied mechanical engineering for two years in the UK, then decided to switch tracks and am currently studying Arabic in Copenhagen.

    P.S. I know I've said that I'm allergic to horses, and I am, but my sister had her own horse for 5 years until we had to move country, and my mother always insisted that I learnt how to ride as well, so I've effectively ridden casually for four years, and with anti-histamines available in every drugstore, I just take a few if I want/need to be around horses :)

  • Languages spoken

    English, Danish and German fluently, and a little French and Arabic (egyptian dialect)

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    Danish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Horses, unfortunately.

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Sitting at the edge of Lac Blanc, enjoying the view of the mountains
Hiking in Chamonix with roommates and friends
Taking a break in Tunesia
Woo, camel ride in the Sahara
Surfing in Cornwall...so cold... :D
Such busy students
Some of my fellow workawayers enjoying their day off at a nearby lake in the north of France

Feedback