Rosalie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/06/2018 - 15/08/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi I'm Irish and American. I retired in June 2018 and spent two months in Portugal where I did two Workaway jobs with horses. I used the opportunity to research the possibility of moving to Portugal permanently. I moved in May 2019.
    Before this I lived in New Mexico, USA for several years. Before that I have lived in the UK, Ireland, Norway, Saudi Arabia and Australia.
    I've had a career as a journalist and I love traveling, meeting people from different countries and learning new languages.
    I visited Portugal a few years ago and I have been wanting to return. I spent time in Lisbon and loved the way people in the city welcomed tourists.
    In 2015, I walked the Camino de Santiago and stayed in hostels in France, Spain and later in Ireland.
    I'm adaptable, energetic, enjoy organizing events and pretty good at using social media, (Facebook/Twitter etc). I've done multi-day cycling tours, can do basic bicycle maintenance. I love Latin dancing. I'm learning Portuguese and I have a dream of being able to come and live in Portugal.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Other

  • What skills do you have?

    I have general office and computer skills. I manage a Facebook page for a travel group.
    I interact well with people from different countries.
    Horse riding, care of horses, dogs, cats. Cycling and basic bicycle maintenance.
    Painting, minor household repairs and gardening.
    Cooking and growing things.
    I speak French, Spanish, Norwegian and am learning Portuguese.

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, Norwegian, a little Portuguese

  • Age

    66

  • Nationality

    US and Irish

  • What else ...

    I'm retiring from a career as a journalist which means I'm used to meeting all kinds of people, being flexible and working fast on deadline. I'm an enthusiastic cyclist and hiker. I walked the Camino de Santiago pilgrimage from Saint Jean Pied de Port to Santiago de Compostela in 2015, so I am familiar with the hostel scene. I've been an Uber driver for 10 months so I am used to interacting with all kinds of people and giving good customer service. . I like to keep busy and I enjoy people with a good sense of humor.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Hiking in the Rocky Mountains, Colorado, Aug. 2017
Roncesvalles, at the start of the Camino de Santiago pilgrimage, 2015
Sailing on the coast of Norway, Oct. 2016

Feedback