Mareike

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/10/2018 - 30/06/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi, I am Mareike (but since my name is to difficult to pronounce for most people around the globe - except Dutch people - you can also call me Emma)!
    Since August 2018 I am on a (hopefully 1-year-) around-the-world-trip. I would like to make my trip a good mixture between travelling from one plce to the other and staying in one place for some time to really take in my surroundings. For a long time now my dream is to work at a hostel since I find that they always have a very special vibe - a mixture of restlessness and finding a home in foreign country far from home. Also I had a great time hosting people at home via Airbnb and Couchsurfing. I liked showing my guests around, giving them advice what ti see, but also preparing a room gir tgem, so tgey would feel at home. In Thailand I already had the chance to work in a hostel with a wonderful team, which gave me the opportunity to meet a lot of great people and I would like to make more of these experiences.
    Another dream of mine is to try out teaching kids (so far I was only a tutor at the university). I think, I would make a good teacher, since I like kids and I consider myself pretty patient.
    Other than that I am curious (especially when it comes to food), open minded, a little scared of big insects, and creative. I love music (I play the violin which I really miss during my travels), books, and old movies.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am creative, musical, and like acting

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, a little Spanish

  • Age

    30

  • What else ...

    I am a friendly, patient and out going person. I am a hard worker who does not complain and I love to find solutions to challenges.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No.

Photos

Feedback