Callie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/02/2018 - 30/06/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I will try to put my situation as simply as possible:

    I decided to quit my job at the end of my apartment lease in February and buy a mini van that I would live out of. The idea was to go on a journey of self-growth and healing. I was accepted into a 4-week residential study at the center for the human potential movement called Esalen in Big Sur, CA. I applied to the workshop in October and was accepted in March. It was supposed to start March 22nd and end April 19. I left Austin on March 12 to start my journey out West with plans to visit National and State Parks along the way. Two days after I left home, in Silver City, NM, I was informed that the workshop had been cancelled, Esalen had closed its doors, and many states were approaching quarantine. Rather than go back to Austin and potentially expose my mother to the virus, I decided to retreat into the Gila National Forest. As much as I love camping, it is very and resources (like food and water) are limited.

    I lament terms, I am in need of a sanctuary during these uncertain times. Genuinely hoping someone nearby can provide a safe place for me to stay as I feel I have very limited options and am lost and confused on what to due in my current situation. Thank you all.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am a people’s person! Enjoy engaging with anyone and everyone. I have a good attitude and do not complain- I find hard work rewarding! I have done volunteer work in Central/South America that involved organizing children’s activities, installing a clean water system in a remote village in the Andes Mountains, cementing a pathway for an all girls school, and other general handy work.

    I used Workaway in 2019 while traveling Australia and loved my experience! I worked on 3 different privately owned farms where I would harvest fresh veggies, maintain the garden beds, cook and bottle homemade jams & chutneys, clean, feed and care for livestock, cook meals, etc. I am happy to help wherever you need it and promise to always give 100%.

    I take pride in my logical thinking and problem solving skills. I am competent and confident leader.

    Love children and animals!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    USA

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      VERY allergic to cats

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback