Chloe & Cassian

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, India, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/01/2018 - 26/01/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My husband and I left our jobs in London in December 2017 and have been travelling and volunteering ever since.
    We were both project managers; Chloe worked for environmental and climate change charities in the UK and Cassian for a construction consultancy. We are both active and love the outdoors, especially hiking, bird watching, running and yoga. Having studied anthropology, I am also really interested in different cultures and people from all over the world.
    In 2018 we travelled from Sudan down to Malawi and volunteered on some amazing projects along the way. We worked at an eco lodge in Ethiopia where we spent most of the time helping with the natural building on site. In Rwanda we volunteered for a public health charity, my husband worked on the farm and I helped in the office with their communications and developing an impact report. In Malawi we stayed at another lodge where we helped with the day to day management, including working in the kitchens, helping with bookings and welcoming guests, DIY and maintenance, and working behind the bar.
    We love 'voluntourism' because it gives us a much better opportunity to get to know a place and the people within, and have a richer experience as a result.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Charity work - strategy and fundraising, communications, social media and websites, blogging.
    Project management, DIY, construction, general maintenance
    Cooking

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    31 & 31

  • Nationality

    United Kingdom

  • What else ...

    I am also writing a food and travel blog called 'People I Meet & Food They Eat' (www.peopleimeetandfoodtheyeat.com). The blog is a collection of recipes from people I meet along my travels as I am really interested in food culture. I would hope to use the workaway opportunity to collect recipes and stories of my experience and share them on my website.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Will eat anything!

Photos

Feedback