Roberta

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/02/2020 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi my name's Bert (short for Roberta) and I intended to travel around Aus in 2020, volunteering as i went. Now, with the advent of COVID-19, I’m looking to focus my time on longer term stays at Workaways. I've had an awesome and varied career in community engagement and fundraising and I've been volunteering for years in all kinds of ways, from teaching English, building schools, office administration, mentoring young refugees, grape picking, animal care, house sitting, permaculture and front and back of house hospitality. Until Feb of this year, I’d been working hard at my desk for a few years and I'm loving taking a break from my office role, being outdoors, getting my hands dirty and being present. I grew up on a farm and while i'm not super experienced in most farmwork, I‘ve been really enjoying manual labor - especially if its in the sun! I can drive a manual car, quad bike, scooter, operate some power tools, pick fruit and veg, do basic gardening tasks, composting, cooking etc. Just really keen to help some lovely people out in a beautiful spot and immerse myself in the outdoors as much as I can :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    My working background is strategic digital marketing and fundraising, primarily copy writing, social media marketing, email marketing automation, training and managing volunteers, database and project management and stakeholder engagement (I could go on!). My most recent role was a fast-paced fundraising role at the Australian Conservation Foundation - our national environmental org. While hopefully these skills are helpful, I'm also keen to re-visit my more active hands-on volunteer and part-time working experience in hospitality, farm work, animal care, babysitting, gardening and just generally supporting others :)

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    35

  • What else ...

    I love hiking, swimming, packrafting and am a big appreciator of art, music and wine!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback