Diane & Alex

  • Canada
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Watch my profile video

Please accept marketing-cookies to watch the video.

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

    Activities we are interested in:

    Sailing, Mountain Biking, Scuba Diving, Skiing, Surfing, Yoga

    Our next destination:

    British Columbia, Canada
    View all
  • Description

    "I sure don't know what I'm going for, but I'm gonna go for it for sure!"
    Meet the Blue World Nomads. Diane grew up a farm-girl and Alex was born and bred a city-boy, but we have spent our lives together in the Coast Mountains of British Columbia. For over twenty-five years, we have been enjoying all the recreational opportunities our part of the world has to offer. Whenever we are in the mountains, we spend our time skiing, snowboarding, mountain-biking and hiking. When the mountains lead to the ocean, we spend our time sailing, scuba-diving and surfing.
    As avid scuba divers, marine conservation is a great concern to us. We originally did our scuba certifications while traveling through Thailand in 2000 on a year-long trip through Southeast Asia, Nepal and India, Istanbul to Cairo, and Morocco. We had such a great time that we went the other way around a couple of years later, this time through South America, Southern Africa, China and Tibet.
    Over the last decade, and until recently, we visited as much of coastal Mexico as we could on annual dive vacations. We have spent the past couple of years house- and pet-sitting in Baja, Queensland, Costa Rica, Jamaica and BC, trying to see as much of the Pacific Ocean as we can. But now, we are switching gears to sailing. Our plan is to be start in coastal British Columbia and see which way the wind blows from there. Our motto is “slow travel with no time to lose”.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Van life
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Photography

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    Homeowners ourselves for over 20 years, we are the DIYers who can tackle any and all jobs related to property renovation, repair and maintenance. We have experience and knowledge of landscaping, gardening, hot tub care, wood stoves, septic tanks, plumbing, electrical, carpentry ... and so much more!
    Generally, we’ve held managerial positions in hotels, restaurants, bars, tour operations and retail stores. We were also owner/operators of a popular guesthouse on the west coast of Vancouver Island for several years. Alex has several maritime certifications from Sail Canada and Transport Canada, and has experience driving dive boats and sailing monohulls. He is a certified instructor with PADI (scuba diving), CSP (ski patrol), CSIA L2 (skiing) and CASI L2 (snowboarding) and Red Cross (1st aid). Diane is a Level 1 Pilates Mat instructor who has been practicing yoga for over 20 years.
    We have been housesitting for the last few years, hopping between BC, Mexico, Australia, Costa Rica and Jamaica. Over that time, we've learned a great deal about WordPress while creating our travel blog The Blue Path (https://thebluepath.com), where we try to focus on marine conservation and socially responsible travel.
    We have done dozens of house and pet sits over several years, hopping between Canada, Mexico, Australia, Jamaica and Costa Rica. Our sits have ranged from four days to five months in length, and our pets and animals have ranged from llamas and chickens to a 5lb cat and two 100lb Australian Bulldogs - including several pets who have required special care, medication and vet visits.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    53 & 53

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    We have all our required COVID vaccines.
    We love sailing, scuba diving, mountain biking, skiing and surfing.
    We love music - Grateful Dead, Bob Marley, Jimmy Buffett, Pink Floyd, Van Morrison.
    We play piano, guitar, ukulele, bass and drums.
    We practice yoga and meditation.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback