Bjarne & Rahel

  • Luxembourg & Canada
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi,
    although we created this account together, we feel like we should not be seen as a unit but rather as two individuals. We also don't like it if couples have a tendency to do everything together and like our personal freedom. That's why we simply both wrote a text that describes ourselves.

    Bjarne:
    I am Bjarne, I studied Computer Science in Karlsruhe (Germany) and decided to take a one year break after I have finished my Bachelor. I entered Canada with a Work and Travel Visa in mid November and will probably be traveling the country until end of August 2021. I love nature and animals and am really adventurous and open to new experiences. I am open minded, have an outgoing personality and love meeting new people. I am very easy going and adapt to almost any situation. I try to reduce meat lately but I wouldn't call myself a complete vegetarian yet especially if I know where the meat is coming from.
    I am currently working in construction in Vancouver to earn some money so I can travel through Canada with my girlfriend Rahel in our Van Ramsey (the coolest 1985 Dodge Ram you can find).
    I could probably ramble on for a long time here what my expectations are, what I am good at and what I would like to but I think sometimes its best to not overthink everything and just see what happens, especially while traveling.
    I am open to answer any questions you might have though, so just ask :)
    All the Best,
    Bjarne

    Rahel:
    Hey there, I am Rahel and I just finished my studies in Psychology in the beautiful Netherlands (Nijmegen to be precise). I've planned to take a year off between my Bachelor and Master already for a while to discover a bit more what's out there. I already did a similar trip after I graduated from High School to Australia and New Zealand and I really loved it.
    I would consider myself as a quite outgoing and curious person who also loves to find beauty in small and silent situations. I am very interested in all kind of people and life stories (obviously as a psychology student :p) and love to have good conversations for hours. I am very into environmental topics and appreciate nature and animals a lot, which is why I want to orientate myself a bit more in that direction for my Master. I plan to study Environmental Governance or Sustainable Development to support the current change in thinking about environmental problems and kick some politicians asses :D
    During the last 8 years I had all kind of jobs like waitressing in restaurants and bars, supporting a first reception center for refugees, working in a kindergarten, working in construction, recycling team at a festival and so on. I like to try out new things and discover new perspectives of all kind of things.
    If there is anything else you want to know, feel free to ask :)
    Cheers,
    Rahel

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Bjarne:
    As I studied computer science I obviously know my way around technology. But I also like manual labour, creating things and working with my bare hands. I like finding solutions for problems, even if it might sometimes not be the best solution I usually get things to work. As I grew up in a very small country I speak several languages and love to communicate in all of them.
    Most of the time if I have to study I am actually cooking or baking, so I know my way around a kitchen. Just in general, I am always willing to learn new skills and I am usually rather good at picking up new skills.

    Rahel:
    Other people say I am quite good with people (which I hope is true as a Psychologist :D) and I also really enjoy all kind of social interactions. I worked a lot in hospitality, so I know how to approach people and provide a good guest service. I am from the countryside, so I have some skills in gardening (my dad has a huge garden with everything you can imagine) and experience with all kind of animals (horses, cows, dogs, cats etc.). I love riding (5 years of experience) and enjoy to play the guitar. I speak English, German and Dutch fluently and have basic skills in Spanish and French.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Luxembourgish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    24 & 24

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Rahel: salmon, trout

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are pretty flexible in our diet :)

Feedback


Friends

Feedback