Bianca

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Friends (8)

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi
    I am Bianca, South Africa/United kingdom dual citizen.
    I have spent the last year and a half helping run a permaculture farm in San Isidro Costa Rica, as well as being a long term community member in Arenal at a start up community/permaculture farm. I have been living abroad and traveling the world for the past 7 years, au pairing in the USA, Teaching in China, being a Digital Nomad in England and all over Asia.

    Things i am passionate about:
    I practice stretching and meditation daily. I love to be outside in nature... hiking, biking and animal watching. Up for any activities that get the blood flowing. I absolutely love animals and care for the earth deeply. I believe in love, respect and equality. Key life skills that i find very important and try to keep developing are empathy, compassion, independence, self- awereness, critical and creative thinking.

    I enjoying spending my days in the garden and in the kitchen, cooking and permaculture, farm to table, is where i am most confident and happy. I spend a lot of my free time learning about plants, edible and medicinal. how to cook with them and create healthy delicious meals. i love experimenting with fermentations, pickling and canning. i am a DIY type of girl and like to get my hands stuck into all kinds of projects, very willing to learn and build life skills, as well as share anything and everything i have to offer. I am continuously building a knowledge bank on plants, wanting to learn more and share everything i know.

    I am hard working. I enjoy laughing and having a good time, and great conversations, but my main interests are connecting with and enjoying nature. I am a care taker at heart and am looking for wonderful, down to earth, wholesome experiences.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Sailing / Boating
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Skills:
    - Permaculture/ gardening/ plant knowledge
    - Planting trees, digging and building garden beds, edible food forrest design for large or small scale projects
    - Herbalism, medicinal plant enthusiast
    - Cooking, Baking, Fermentation, Pickling (cooking unique delicious food is my passion and i can easily spend hours trying different ideas out)
    - Caring for, looking after and teaching children
    - General Maintenance + DIY projects
    - Massage therapy
    - Photography and Videography
    - Willing to learn, and try anything, ability to problem solve, and take my own initiative
    - Strong, Capable and Reliable
    - Would love to get involved with any natural building and woodwork projects, i am a fast learner.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    i can teach English and Afrikaans, i want to learn Spanish

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    31

  • What else ...

    my main passions and things i do currently at the farm i am at:
    -Permaculture, planting trees, creating herb gardens and berms.
    - Basic gardening, weeding, trimming, pruning trees, saving seeds and propogation of plants.
    - Cooking for a community from as little as 2 people to as much as 30
    - Fermentation, pickling and baking bread
    - Shopping for the community
    - Running the communities online social media like instagram and well as handling its numundo and workaway accounts
    - Caring for children, creavtive play, and teaching.
    - General helping around the community and keeping things clean and tidy
    -Looking after and caring for the communities pets and animals
    - Welcoming volunteers, guests, and workawayers

    I am a jack of all trades and always willing to get involved where needed. when i feel appreciated and connected to a project/place/person i will give my absolute everything :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegan/vegetarian

Friends

Photos

Feedback