Benjamin

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    China, Mongolia, Papua New Guinea, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/07/2019 - 30/09/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Free spirit, easy going, interested in cultural exchange, naturelover and drawn to the unexplored/unknown.
    Why am I travelling? Firstly to meet/understand new cultures/opinions/beliefs. Secondly to escape my materialistic surroundings and hasty society. Thirdly to detach myself from time and live completely in the present. Fourthly to learn new skills and improve at what I am capable of. And fifthly to explore, explore, explore!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Well to start I've studied tourism at university level in Bruges. These studies gave me the opportunity to work as a trainee at a tourist office in Northern France (half a year), whilst really finetuning my French.

    I've also worked as a receptionist for a couple of years at an old hotel in the historic center of Ghent.

    My last occupation was in one of the biggest libraries which is also an information center and a place that offers a lot of events/activities in Belgium (Brussels). Here my tasks were giving tours (mostly for newly arrived immigrants), floor manager, handling complaints, help with projects, front desk work, etc...

    In between these long periods of work I've done some jobs as being a cook, dishwasher, cleaner, etc... So you see I don't mind getting my hands dirty :) Oh and I've also had the joyous occasion to work with lots of kids at different sorts of camps and playweeks.

    Furthermore I am somewhat of a sport fanatic, I do some organic farming, I love cooking good food and really enjoy cultural exchange.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    Belgian

  • What else ...

    I have a huge interest in local flora and fauna and am very curious in learning new stuff in this regard. What I like to do in my spare time is read books, talk about food, make new friends, play board games and just walk around in nature and taking it all in :-)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback