Benjamin & Jenny

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/04/2019 - 24/04/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi! We are Ben and Jenny and we are travelling through Europe in our self-build campervan to learn more about sustainable living, organic farming and alternative lifestyles.
    We are two 25 years olds, and both have language degrees so have always been passionate about other cultures. After university we both worked in the charity sector in office jobs as we have always found it important that what we do makes a positive difference to others. We left our jobs at the end of January 2018 to finish building our home on wheels.
    From April 2018 we have been travelling around Europe to learn the skills we need to start our new alternative lifestyle back in the UK. Sustainability and low-impact living has always been important to us, so it seemed logical that our next step would be to be more self-sufficient and live from the land.
    We currently do not have lots of experience on farms, however we are very eager to get stuck in and committed to developing the skills necessary to help you. Having built our own campervan from scratch, we learnt everything as we went along, including: carpentry, installing a basic gas and electric system, installing windows and vents to the body of the van, some sewing (curtains, mattress covers, cushions), design, etc. We therefore believe we can take the same approach working on your farm. We will also be learning more skills along the way on our 6 month trip.
    Our love of the outdoors is another reason for doing this trip. We like walking, cycling and yoga, and find these great ways of seeing the places we visit. We are adventurous, up for a challenge and hard working. We love meeting new people and are excited to learn all about the cultures we will encounter!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Charity work

  • What skills do you have?

    Basic woodworking/construction, maintenance, cooking, German and Spanish second language, drawing, use of computers, graphic design, office experience, charity work

  • Languages spoken

    English, German, Spanish

  • Age

    26 & 26

  • Nationality

    Ben: Welsh and German. Jenny: English

  • What else ...

    We will be travelling by campervan so will need somewhere to park. We can also sleep in the van if necessary.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Ben is allergic to salmon

    • Special dietary requirements
      Jenny is vegetarian

Photos

Feedback