Ben

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2019 - 30/09/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    My name is Ben, a 25 year old guy from The Netherlands.

    I am a social worker and i'd love the opportunity to meet other cultures and learn languages.

  • Type of help

    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    The way I would describe myself is someone who's above all honest, maybe even too honest at times. I believe that honesty and open communication is a very important component in any relationship.
    People say that i'm an open book because I don't mind sharing my story with anyone.

    I have a degree in social work and have some experience in that field.
    I've worked with refugees as a language coach and social counselor at VluchtelingenWerk Noord-Nederland.

    At this job I was assigned to many refugees from a variety of places like Eritrea, Iraq, Syria, Somalia and a bunch more. My job description was to help them get settled in The Netherlands and promote their self-reliance. During my time there i also gave a weekly language coaching class every Wednesday afternoon.

    After this I had a job as a work counselor at a participation and reintegration course (RaderWerk Kollum). The best way I can describe the job is a social worker with a supervisory role. The people I worked with there are from many different backgrounds and the goal of this course is to help people get a job.

    I've also worked various odd jobs over the years; retail, food services, car rental, food processing and a bunch more. I've painted and fixed up my apartment too and i'm good with computers. So i have a little experience in almost anything.

    At all the jobs I have had i tried to apply humour. I've noticed that if you make jokes and level with people that they become more open and that it makes the whole experience more enjoyable for everyone involved :D.

    These are the 5 languages I speak:
    Dutch (mother tongue)
    English (Fluently, level C1+)
    Spanish (Basic)
    German (Basic)
    French (Little)

    I can say that I have a knack for languages though, I pick them up pretty quickly. (My former refugee clients loved the fact that I picked up a little of their language)

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch (Mother Tongue), English (Fluent, C1+), Spanish (Basic), German (Basic), French (Little)

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    In my spare time I like to go out with friends, watch series and movies, play video games and generally have a good time. I always wanted to travel because I'm very interested in learning new cultures and languages. History is one of my interests too, I often found myself explaining Dutch history and culture to my international friends here.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback