Rebecca

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Greece, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/06/2016 - 01/01/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am an active, outgoing, friendly and hard working backpacker, from Liverpool, UK.

    I have travelled extensively in Europe and South America. During this time I have volunteered in Argentina, Bolivia, Peru and Colombia. I am a native English speaker, with a strong grasp of the Spanish Language.

    My voluntary experiences include living off grid on a Nature reserve in Argentina, responsible for working on the organic vegetable gardens, maintaining the extensive walking trails, cooking meals for guests and fellow volunteers, cleaning the cabins and communal areas.

    In Peru, I worked on the bar of a popular backpackers hostel in Cusco, a tourist hot spot in the country. The hostel could host 150 guests and we accepted customers to the bar from outside the hostel, so it was an incredibly fun but a fast paced environment, somewhere I thrived.
    I recently returned to Peru, after being offered the job to manage this bar, after spending 5 months there as a volunteer.

    In order to fund my travels, I have worked extensively in the hospitality industry in the in the United Kingdom. Most recently as a restaurant manager. I have been responsible for managing teams of up to 20 people, rotas, ordering, ensuring all health and safety protocols are met.
    I love my work in this industry and I am keen to continue it as I travel, meeting people from other countries, learning from their experiences and creating a fun, positive work/volunteer environment.

    I am a fast learner and am always looking for a challenge, to meet new people and learn new skills. I hope I can be a positive and helpful addition to any projects and places I work at!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Over 5 years in the hospitality industry - I can manage volunteers, rotas, orders, health and safety protocols.
    A native English speaker with a 120 hour TEFL certificate, I am happy to offer any language support I can.

    I have worked on large scale cultural events in my home city, and would be happy to offer any support in organisation and delivery of events, as required.
    I love to cook - I have experience of cooking for big groups of volunteers, baking bread/cakes.

    My voluntary work in Argentina has given me experience of working on organic vegetable gardens, planting, transplanting and harvesting fruits and vegetables.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I am always keen to learn the language of the place I am visiting, as a native English speaker I would always be happy to participate in any language exchange.
    I love to cook and mix drinks and would love to share that with guests, hosts and fellow volunteers.
    I live to travel at a slow pace, and would like to stay at least 1 month in order to truly experience the place I am staying and what it has to offer.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback