Bart & Taniya

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belgium, Germany

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/07/2017 - 02/01/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    (update: july 2019)
    Thank you for checking our profile!

    We are a couple from The Netherlands who have been travelling as Workawayer since July 2017.
    We’ve decided on travelling to escape the rat race of modern life. We’re not just looking for a cheap holiday but see Workaway as a great way to go to new places, learn new things and see how other people live their lives.
    We've had two splendid years, travelling through Europe by car, from Ireland to Norway, from Portugal to Hungary and everywhere in between.

    We worked with animals (too many to mention although socializing dog puppies and handling a baby donkey and helping with a baby goat delivery with no one else around were definitely highlights! although Bart has a weak spot for all the pigs we met....) , restored some roofs, upgraded LOTS of gardens (hello brambles, they are very international.....), made some pottery (loved it!), some painting, did a bit of house sitting, bit of cleaning, vineyards, and organic farms.
    We really like the aspect of not checking the time, no money involved, happy people and being outside a lot.
    Most of our time off goes to walking, bird watching, reading, playing games, drawing and playing the guitar.
    We are both vegetarians, but do not expect our hosts to be too. We both enjoy cooking.

    Some more info about us:
    Bart: crazy for birds, trees, nature in general, music, art. I've been working as a guitar teacher at a music school for over ten years. I've studied classical guitar but play all kinds of music. Apart from this I've also been working as a volunteer at a wildlife rescue centre for birds and small mammals for over 10 years. Learned a lot at that place! The guitar became less interesting over the years and I spent a lot of time with gardening and drawing. However since doing workaway my guitar is actually a lovely travel companion:) I'm a hard worker, quick learner, creative, like a good laugh and are very open minded.

    Taniya: Before Workaway I worked as a History and English teacher for over ten years at a secondary school and absolutely loved it. A couple of hours per week I also worked at a wildlife rescue centre and have done this for almost four years.
    As a workawayer the jobs I like best and are good at are (in random order) animal care, painting, teaching, cooking, cleaning, child care. We helped out with a bit of renovating/construction work and I enjoyed that as well.


    IMPORTANT LAST MESSAGE:
    It's not just the two of us you're going to host :) Since two months now we've been travelling with our dog Fyodor. We adopted him from a shelter in Croatia. He is part of our family and lives outside and inside. If you don't like dogs or feel they should be kept outside, we're probably not a good match. Our boy is very well behaved, doesn't go on your couch, doesn't jump on our bed (we bring his own bed:) ) Indoors he's very quiet. While we're eating he doesn't beg for food, we really like it this way. BUT we like to talk a lot about him and spend all our free time with him (and like to have him around while working). He's very good with other dogs, unfortunately not good with cats.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We are quick learners and very willing!
    We had years of experience in teaching and animal care before we started as workawayers. As a workawayer we picked up a whole array of (sometimes) new skills, especially gardening skills! Up until now we’ve been doing a lot of wood collecting and chopping (manually and machinery), clearing gardens such as leaves/brambles/general weeding/pruning, housesitting, building a ferret pen, cutting grass, working with vegetables (sowing/harvesting/clearing etc.), some pottery (loved it!), using a chainsaw, fixing a roof, collecting mistletoe, taking care of animals (lots of dogs but also pigs, sheep, goats, donkey, chickens etc.), a lot of cleaning.

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, basic German

  • Age

    37 & 35

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    we're at the end of our travels and thinking about finishing in Britain or Germany! Although Ireland is always an option :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are both vegetarians.

Photos

Fyodor!
Organic farm IRELAND
Feeding chickens in Oughterard, Ireland.
Collecting mistletoe ENGLAND
New roof (FRANCE PYRENEES)
Releasing animals back into the wild
Feeding a young hedgehog at the wildlife rescue centre, the Netherlands.
Splitting wood in Germany.
Mowing the grass in Sölvesborg, Sweden.
Cleaning the garden:) SWEDEN

Feedback