Aya & Edward

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Aya Jane is driven by the belief that there's more to life than just making money and having fun. She aspires to lead by example, creating community that values feeling alive and is willing to put in the work to get there. Her undergraduate education is in sports science with premedical studies, aligning with her passion for preventative care and wellbeing. Aya is a closet painter, playful dancer, patient friend, loves to indulge in human relationship/language/culture, and is deeply comforted by spending time outdoors- specifically near rocky outcroppings/mountains and bodies of water.

    Eddie is a fun, observant guy with a wide scope of interests, well thought out philosophies, and a desire to use his experience in life to help others perhaps as a counselor, teacher, and often simply as a good listener. He is very athletic and enjoys hockey, skiing/snowboarding, volleyball, frisbee, golf, disc golf, mountain biking, soccer, weight training, and yoga. Stemming from a bachelor's degree in neuroscience, Eddie holds a heartfelt knowledge of how meditation and the subtlety of mental wellbeing dictate the quality of one's life.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Sailing / Boating
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Photography
    Cooking & food

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion

    Some knowledge of:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Art Projects
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    We both enjoy working with people and learning new things. You can expect us to happily insert ourselves into learning your daily tasks and lifestyle as desired and then to disappear awhile when we're not needed.

    COOKING:
    We love be creative with food, whether that entails trying new cultural recipes, daring combinations, or adding ingredients foraged on hikes to dinner.

    Aya: I see food as medicine. Past experience includes working as a creative baker and shaper, studying Ayurvedic diet in India, and a basic college course in nutrition.

    Eddie: I worked on a small town wood-fired pizza truck, several restaurants and a brewery and enjoy cooking avante garde dinners on the daily.

    CHILDCARE:
    With aspirations to start a family of our own, spending time with children is always a gift. There is so much joy in learning from their curiosity and sharing in their volatile emotions as we go through simple tasks, games, and lessons during the day.

    Aya: Past experience includes being a live-in nanny, full time and part time babysitter, and a keeper in the Huron Mountain Club.

    Eddie: Has 8 nieces and nephews with whom he enjoys caring for and spending time with.

    YOGA:
    Aya started practicing asana in 2012, teaching classes in 2014 and continues to pursue the practice with a consistent ebb and flow. After an initial teacher training she furthered her studies by studying at an Ayurvedic clinic and Ashtanga based school in India for 12 months. In October 2020 Aya and three other teachers founded a small organization called Unity Yoga Coop offering donation based classes for the community in Marquette, Michigan.

    BUILDING:
    Eddie spent one year as an apprentice in home construction with basic skills in foundation, masonry, framing, roofing, siding, decking, tile, demolition, and finished carpentry.

    Aya had the privilege of watching and participating in the construction of her family's home from the ground up.

    GARDENING/FARMING:
    Aya: My childhood best friend lived on an organic farm so I am familiar with picking weeds, harvesting, CSA assembly lines, and the basics. Knowledge of plants is very interesting to me so I remember a lot of little facts about things such as edible weeds and my grandfather's method of starting seedlings.

    Eddie:
    I created and cared for several large backyard vegetable gardens, worked on a daylily farm for 2 summers and designed and built an indoor garden using artificial lighting.
    I aspire to one day lead a primary self-sustaining diet and have recently taken an interest in mushroom species identification.

    SALES/MARKETING:
    Eddie: Was the first employee at an insurance agency that advised seniors on medicare supplement insurance remotely (via telephone/video conferencing). Over the course of 10 years, he has developed skills in marketing campaigns, building easy to understand presentations, public speaking, and finding the right audience for the products.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Hindi: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    23 & 30

  • What else ...

    We are both fully vaccinated for COVID-19

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback