Aviaja

  • Denmark
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Greece
    View all
  • Description

    Hi! I'm Aviaja, I'm 24, and I'm currently in between studies, after an Erasmus semester studying history in Athens. I'm not quite ready to leave this beautiful country yet, so I figured I'd like to travel a bit while I have the time!
    Before I started studying (and before a worldwide pandemic happened) I spent a year traveling Europe and doing Workaway.
    I went to Portugal, Italy, Romania and Hungary, mainly doing hostel work like reception, cleaning and bartending. I really enjoyed the social hostel lifestyle, but I'm always looking to branch out and try more new things !

    When I was a kid my parents travelled a lot with me (mainly through southeast Asia; Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, etc.), but they started sticking to Europe once my two younger siblings were born. And so traveling is something I've very much grown up with and feels like a natural part of my life.

    I'm a very curious and open-minded person and love learning new things. You can always find me immersed in some new topic, project or hobby I've decided to try out. I have a lot of hobbies and interests that I'd love to share, and I'm curious about most everything, so I'd love for you to share with me what you're passionate about.
    I generally enjoy any creative work and I started painting a few years ago. Now I'm making something out of most everything I can get my hands on.
    I also love cooking and baking and, although I have some stables I love, I'm always testing out new recipes in the kitchen - for better or worse.
    To maybe sum up, I believe loving the world around you, learning and expressing yourself is a great way to go through life.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Workaway has given me a lot of hostel experience, so I'm comfortable with a mop-bucket, behind a bar, as well as behind a reception desk.

    The past couple of summers I've worked as a barista and waitress in a small café by the harbor, where we have a lot of international sailors and regulars coming by. Here I'm often in charge of the café and responsible for the younger workers.
    Before my job at the café, I worked in the kitchen of a gourmet pizza restaurant (preparing the ingredients for the pizza bakers, e.g. cutting meat, baking dough, making tomato sauce etc.), so from there I'm used to work that can get a bit heavy and/or repetitive.
    As a teenager I worked as a receptionist at a camping site, where I got very used to communicating with language and occasionally cultural- barriers.

    Other than that I'd love to help out and swing a brush or help out with various creative and/or diy-projects. I'm also very organized and quite systematic, so I'm good at cleaning too. I've grown up as the oldest of three siblings with a fairly big age gap, so I'm used to being around kids and babysitting. I also did horseback-riding for 11 years (taught a bit to kids too), though it's now some years ago I've last sat on a horseback.
    I'm interested in most everything and love learning, so I'm most likely going to be up for learning any new skills, regardless of whether I've had experience or interest in them before !

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Greek: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    It's important for you to know that I am not just looking for a free bed and so, expect that you are not just looking for free labour. Workaway is, to me, about cultural exchange, learning opportunities and friendship, and so that is what I'm looking for in hosts.

    (also triple vaccinated with pfizer!)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I don't consider myself vegetarian, but I very rarely eat any meat.

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback