Alison

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/10/2018 - 17/11/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello everyone,

    I'm Alison, used to work administration in a Hong Kong school office, before deciding to leave home comforts and explore the world.

    4 years of travelling have taken me from Australia to New Zealand and now across the Pacific to Canada (still going strong!)

    During my southern hemisphere time, I've served in a few bars in Queensland, usual bartending, cleaning and cooking.
    Plenty of housekeeping experience both paid and accommodation exchange (found it to be the best way to enjoy the surroundings)

    Even managed to spend several months as a factory line worker, first in fruit canning and then mussel opening.
    As well as a blueberry fruit picker and kiwifarm pruner during the summer months, so don't mind getting my hands dirty.

    Then became a Helpex volunteer last year, took me all around the country meeting a variety of new people, joining in their daily work and lifestyles
    I've had great chance of trying out milking on a dairy farm, helping at an animal sanctuary and spent 2 dusty summer months on a free range pig farm making sausages; to name just a few.
    Happy to try out new tasks, there's always a first time for everything!

    Don't smoke and not a fussy eater, like to read, look at other people's artwork (as I'm a terrible drawer), films, baking (like to experiment new recipes), hiking (if there's a good view) exchanging stories with others and hear about their adventures.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening - weeding, mulching, planting, branch cutting
    Cooking - baking (absolutely) meals ( I call these experiments)
    House work
    Painting - roll painted a bookcase and staining fence posts, repainted guest rooms
    Animal feeding
    Some admin and basic computer work

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Chinese (Cantonese): Fluent

  • Age

    33

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback