From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cape Verde, France, Guadeloupe, Malta, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/08/2019 - 30/09/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    My name is Joy.I am from Blackpool in the north of England. Whilst I am not the usual age for workaway, to me age is just a number. Energy, friendliness, honesty, cheerfulness and adaptability are the key to getting along with others. I have worked as a casino waitress and as a croupier which enabled me to get work in many places. This was perfect as my two great passions in life are experiencing new places and meeting people. When my daughter was born I retrained as a pharmacy technician to provide a stable environment for her education.
    I am used to doing all my own diy. Painting, gardening etc. and I enjoy cleaning (yes really)
    In 2012 I spent two months travelling around New Zealand, staying and working in hostels. This was a great experience as I met lots of interesting people and got lots of ideas about places to visit that are off the usual tourist trail.
    A couple of years ago I volunteered for three months at a school in Fiji, which I loved. I enjoyed the challenge of the work and mixing with the other volunteers from many different countries. I have also been volunteering locally as a reading mentor for young children. I love working with children as they are very honest, open and fun.
    I have three grandchildren who I have been taking care of regularly whilst my daughter completed her studies and my son in law was working. Also helping to look after my daughter's numerous dogs (pets and rescue). I am very used to the amount of laundry, housework and general chaos :-) that family life entails. Now that my daughter has finished her studies I have the freedom to travel more.
    In 2018 I spent six months travelling in Europe (some holiday and some with workaway) which I enjoyed immensely. I have spent the first part of 2019 back home working to top up my finances and have started hosting volunteers again, which I did in 2016.
    In September 2019 I began volunteering with workaway again. My first position was at a language immersion school in Biar, Spain where I met some brilliantly interesting people. When the project finished I returned to one of my previous hosts for four weeks. I then went to France for two weeks to help a family with a young child and two energetic dogs. I hope to travel again in 2020.
    I love walking, zip wiring ,reading, gardening, quizzes, board and card games and meeting new people. I am also very interested in conservation, animal welfare, beach cleaning and litter picking.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    I have a clean driving license and a full DBS check
    I have strong organisational skills, a friendly and helpful demeanour and a good work ethic.
    I am self motivated.
    I can supply references if needed, and I have hosted Workawayers myself.

  • Languages spoken

    English, little French

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements