Ashley

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Germany, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/04/2021 - 01/08/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Currently moving around the UK, trying to learn as much about self-sufficiency, low-impact life, construction, and growing food and materials.

    I studied as an engineer, worked for a bit before dropping out to become an environmental activist, and now want to sow the seeds of change by gathering skills to join or form a project on land to call our own.

    I am motivated by exploring, adventuring and learning. I like to test things and see what happens. I am happiest when my life is structured but varied and includes meaningful friendships.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I studied as an engineer at University. I have good ideas about how things work and can fix some things. I am most interested in looking at processes and systems.
    I have studied off-grid electrical systems theoretically, building and installing a solar system, and building a wind turbine.
    I can teach meditation. I have been studying Non-Violent Communication and facilitation and self-organisation and other group processes and transformative conflict systems.
    I have helped manage woodland and process felled wood in Spain.
    I have some experience with growing plants, but an appetite to learn more. Similarly I have been woodworking and I love making structures and have a hunger for more.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    I like reading about neuroscience and social science.
    I like playing cards and chess.
    I like to meditate, do yoga, slackline, run and cycle (I have cycled from UK to Finland).
    I am learning the piano.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Feedback