Ashley & (Jennifer) Hsuan-Chen

  • United States & Taiwan
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently


  • Description

    Hello! We are Ashley and Jennifer! We would like to spend a summer learning a culture that is foreign to both of us. We hope to bring a different perspective to the conversation and look forward to experiencing European culture.

    A little bit about Ashley:
    I am a first-generation Vietnamese American looking for a unique summer opportunity. I was born and raised in Dallas, Texas and I'm currently in law school. Before I started my path in law, I focused on mastering my second language: Mandarin. I took a gap year after high school graduation and moved to Yilan, Taiwan, for a language immersion program. My gap year turned into five years of living in Taiwan where I met my best friend Jennifer.

    A little bit about Jennifer:
    I am from Taiwan. I enjoy cooking and baking - I have even started my own baking company where I deliver my baked sweets to my local community. I have experience in child care as a nanny and host my own Airbnb in my village Yuli, Taiwan. My hobbies are learning languages and exploring new cultures. I'm also very excited to share my Taiwanese culture with you through food and conversation.

  • Interests

    Outdoor activities
    Charity work
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Movies & TV

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    We are interested in participating in any language exchange. We both speak English and Chinese.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Eco Projects
    Being an elderly companion
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
    General Maintenance

    Some knowledge of:  

    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    We are both fluent in English and Mandarin Chinese and our expertise lie in our teaching experience. We both have taught in elementary schools. Ashley has taught 1st grade English and Freshmen English for university students. Jennifer has experience teaching first, second, and third-grade students in English and Mandarin Chinese.

    We both enjoy cooking and baking. Jennifer has a baking catering service.

    We both have experience working in coffee shops, restaurants, and hostels.

  • Age

    26 & 27

  • What else ...

    We genuinely love any type of adventure. Our European summer will start with the El Camino de Santiago in early May. We wish to remain in Europe to explore more countries and cultures.
    We both love animals and have dogs and cats of our own.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements