Anke

  • Germany
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello, I’m Anke and live in a small village in northern Germany. After I finished school I trained as a cook and worked in large hotels for four years.
    Because I was looking for new professional challenges, I did my A-levels in Berlin and studied Landscape Planning.
    During this time I dealt with topics surrounding environmental protection, alternative ways of living and permaculture. With friends I worked in a small garden that supplied us with fruits and vegetables. It was then that I first came up with the idea of traveling to Australia to learn there. But life got in the way and we moved to the countryside so our children could grow up in a healthy environment.
    In 2006, I set up a small company called Manufaktur Löwenzahn. I produce and sell various foods independently such as herbal mixtures for seasoning, chutneys, jams, etc. Following my great passion for wild plants and nature experience, I attend various seminars and trainings. I like to pass on my knowledge on guided hikes an during workshops.
    Now my two daughters are independent and I’m ready to learn new things and gain experiences. I want to get to know new cultures and forms of living together and I want to work in organic farming and permaculture. I also really want to improve my English.
    I am looking forward to an adventure with exciting people and with myself.
    In January and February 2019 and 2020 I spent several weeks with hosts in Australia. It was so enriching for me to exchange with my hosts and other volunteers and to live with them for some time. We laughed a lot together and I learned to go beyond my limits. Even though it has become more difficult, I want to travel with workaway in 2021, have new experiences and get involved in a community.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Dancing
    Farming
    Gardening
    Languages
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    I manage the family life, grow vegetables and herbs in my own garden. Cooking and baking are passion of mine as well. I bake breads from native kinds of grains too.
    Additonally I manage my small business and everything that comes with that, like purchasing, production, marketing etc.
    I work with wild plants intensively and study their use for cooking and healing.
    I gain particular connection to nature by celebrating annual cycle festivals. This tradition and the intensive encounter with the plants connects me to the shamanic work.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    52

  • Nationality

    deutsch

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback