Aoife

From: Ireland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/02/2020 - 12/02/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi!
    My name is Aoife (It's pronounced like Efa).

    I'm Irish (in case you couldn't guess from the name).

    I'm a bubbly outgoing person who loves to travel and meet new people.

    I have a degree in Podiatry. I have spent the last 4 years working in both community health centers and hospitals in Ireland. I left my job recently and am planning on spend the year exploring New Zealand on a working holiday visa.

    In 2016 I worked and traveled in East Africa and South East Asia. Last year (2019) I spent 6 months in Northern Spain learning Spanish. Spain is where I discovered workaway! I worked for a few weeks teaching English and then a few weeks in the mountains on an organic farm. I met some amazing people and learned lots of new skills.

    I have a wide range of skills and experience. I spent a number of years working as a surf instructor in a rural area of Ireland. In this job I was also teaching the Irish language (Gaeilge) through sports.

    I am a qualified lifeguard for both pool and beach and have experience in both.
    I'm also a keen gardener (a passion inherited from my mother.). I have lots of experience growing veg and doing general gardening tasks as we have a large garden and organic veg patch at home.

    I love nature and most of my hobbies center around the sea or the mountains. As a result of this I see the importance of looking after our planet. I've made lots of small changes in my life to reduce waste and plastics and reduce my carbon footprint. I am very interested in sustainability and eco friendly living and am keen to learn more about all aspects of it.
    I'm relatively handy and am always eager to learn new skills.

    At the moment I'm in New Zealand with a self contained campervan. I'm in Dunedin at the moment because of the lock down but am hoping to start workaway once this blows over (preferably outdoor based to get lot of fresh air after a month of taking it easy). I plan to stay on the South island for most of my year here.

    I love surfing and pretty much all water sports so I'm ideally looking for somewhere close to the beach.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Podiatrist
    Surf instructor
    Beach and pool lifeguard
    First aid, CPR and defibrillator qualified
    Gardening

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Irish: Beginner

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    Irish

  • What else ...

    I love all water sports especially surfing. I'm also a very keen swimmer and compete in open water swimming events.

    I also play the harp.

    NON smoker

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Nope I eat everything. I eat meat but love vegetarian and vegan food.

Photos

Feedback