Anja

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Israel

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/07/2019 - 19/09/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello there!
    I'm Anja, a young Swiss girl living in Zurich and just became a certified midwife!

    I love living in the city but every little while I get struck by wanderlust and want to explore other countries, cultures and mother nature. At the moment I focus a lot on my spiritual journey and on how I want to live in the future. I feel drawn back to living simply and in touch with nature. I envision living on a farm with a big organic vegetable garden and orchard, many children as well as some chickens and maybe goats to take care of. Therefore I'm keen on gaining as much knowledge on gardening, permaculture and self-sufficient farming as possible through-out the next months and years. I love to get my hands dirty, that's when I feel most alive and connected to a higher purpose. Recently, I started to learn about plant dyeing and I am thrilled to experiment with many different plants I find in nature and create some sustainable slow fashion pieces. As I'm vegan (ethical reasons like harmful factory farming) I care a lot about the wellbeing of animals and it has given me a lot of motivation to explore new cooking styles. Nevertheless, I'm interested in learning about egg collecting and making cheese from goat/sheep milk in a very conscious way.

    As a midwife I have a lot of experience with newborns, babies and young children and love caring for them. I'm so happy with my profession and would love to work in a NGO somewhere in the world or as a homebirth midwife.

    In August 2018 I did my 200 hour yoga teacher training in Rishikesh, India and just recently finished an additional prenatal yoga teacher training which allows me to connect my profession with one of my passions.

    So excited to get to know a lot more countries and cultures through workaway as this is possibly one of the best options to get a real deep insight!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    DIY and building projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Able to teach about: 

    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    I can cook (vegetarian/vegan meals) and clean.
    I'm just starting to teach yoga and need some volunteer students ;)
    I've been a nanny for babies and young children for a few years.
    I can teach you macramé.
    I have some basic knowledge of vegetable gardening, picking and weeding.
    I can show you how to experiment with plant dyes.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Hebrew: Beginner

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    Swiss

  • What else ...

    I am a quick learner and always give my very best! Sometimes I'm even a bit too strict with myself but I want to learn to accept myself for who I am!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

working on an organic vegetable farm in Israel
hiking in the Swiss mountains
I enjoy working with children and babies a lot!
Hiking some volcanoes in Guatemala
Hiking and having fun is always a good idea

Feedback