Aude

  • Australia
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    At home



    Helping others / Volunteering
    Meeting new people
    DIY arts/ projects
    House plants
    Yoga & Meditation
    Sports / Boxing / Crossfit
    Hiking
    Scubadiving
    Vegetarian & vegan cooking
    Concerts / Theatres / Drag

  • Description

    Hi guys,

    My name is Aude, I have settled down in Paris for three years now for an engineering job but am now looking to work in a social or eco NGO. My desire to discover new places and cultures while helping people is always catching up on me!
    Since a little girl, I've always wanted to help people! In engineering school, I volunteered in a solidarity organization with a group of 20 people. During a whole year, we developed a project aimed at building a health centre in Peru in order to preserve traditional medicine. During the preparation, we talked with locals and raised money to pay for the building materials. For a month, I went to this small village in the Amazonian jungle to build the traditional houses for the "sabios" to heal people with their traditional methods using herbs and plants.
    During this experience, I developed skills of communication, building with cement, pickaxe and much more!
    After this amazing experience, I decided to continue volunteering for good causes. I became vice-president of the organisation and I mostly managed solidarity local projects to help people in my city. The aim was to help those in need, homeless, young, refugees...
    With this role, I became proficient in teamwork and team leading.

    I did 10 months of my studies in Australia, in Brisbane. This allowed me to be fluent in English. During this time I travelled for the first time on my own to an unknown place. I went to Vanuatu for a week. I truly loved it and I discovered the best way to travel. After this, I did a 3-week road trip on the east coast of Australia and then I took a one-way ticket to Indonesia and improvised there. I ended up travelling on my own to Indonesia and Malaysia for 3 months and it was for sure the best experience of my life! I met so many amazing people. I discovered so much about life but also about myself with these experiences!

    I am a really open-minded and tolerant person. I am fun and always have a smile on my face. Some people say my smile is contagious and instantly make other people smile as well :D
    I went to Australia twice, in Brisbane and in Melbourne, where I taught French to many students. All of them were really happy with my teaching and progressed a lot! Back in France, I also used to tutor students to prepare for exams and the A-levels.
    I thus have teaching skills as well. I could teach both in French or in English. I can teach languages but also other topics (basic science, plant care, cooking...)
    In Australia, I attended a 10-day Vipassana course where you follow Dhamma principles and meditate. This was truly a life-changing experience and I would like to volunteer in meditation centres to give back to this such amazing community. I also like yoga and I would like to do the training to become a teacher one day.

    I've done a workaway close to Melbourne in a wildlife sanctuary, where I mostly took care of injured or orphaned kangaroos. I love animals and I am interested to protect them!
    I have also volunteered in a workaway project in Sri Lanka to help preserve the endemic forest and to do permaculture. I've mainly worked in a coconut farm and helped around.
    Since I am in Paris I haven't travelled since 3 years now, but being on the lookout for.a job, I have plenty of time I would like to use well.

    I would like to help you serve a good cause. I can share with you my skills and experiences. Please, ask me if you have any questions! I am sure we can learn a lot from each other!
    Namaste :)

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Scientist (engineer, biomedical), Solidarity volunteering, Fund raising, Local events, Building, Teaching (French & English), Art (Photography), Gardening/Plant care, Veggie/Vegan Cooking, Housekeeping, DIY crafts

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    My mother tongue is French. I am fluent in English as I have worked and lived in Australia for a year, and also travelled for a few months in South East Asia. I used to teach French to Australian people willing to learn. I would be able to teach French and/or English. I am learning Spanish, it's been a while since I haven't practiced but I assume I would be able to teach basic Spanish to very beginners.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    French

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Cats, Some trees and dust mites and to some fresh fruits and hazelnuts and to a low extent Garlic. It's manageable, as it's not severe at all, and I have pills if needed!

    • Special dietary requirements
      I prefer vegetarian food but I am flexitarian so I can eat animal products sometimes.

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback