Annette

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/05/2019 - 29/06/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    60

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Friends describe me as a warm and thoughtful person - humorous and full of ideas. Life has given me lots of great opportunities to develop skills and problem solving competence.
    I always loved to travel and plunge into different cultures.
    I guess, I'm not the average holiday type to roast under the sun, sipping a cocktail and eventually taking a bustour to some sights. This brought me to Workaway: what could be better then to actually participate in the life there... :-D

    Ireland has fascinated me ever since and I first visited it in 2003 for a course to built an instrument (a harp). My first workaway experience was fabulous. I stayed at Deirdre's place on the biggest of the Aran Islands - Inis Mór - helping her painting kitchen, hall and a guestroom and setting up stone flowerbeds in the garden. As Deirdre is singer she asked me to bring along my harp for doing a little program together in the afternoon for the visitors of the island. That was marvelous.

    About my vita:
    I was born in Düsseldorf in 1964 as 2nd child (I have two brothers). After commercial college I trained as a clerk in an publishing house, but later-on became a journalist. I married into a patchwork family and have two children of my own: a wonderful daughter (born 1991) and son (born 1993) who both made their way successfully. I was divorced in 1998. In 2014 I moved to Cologne for a new job challenge and am now working in a online-fishing-school where I can bring in a lot of knowledge (like PR)

    I love to paint, sew, craft and read. Gardening used to be a favorite pastime, when I had a big garden and I love to decorate my flat, using unusual things and improvise. I love to watch BBC period dramas and history documentaries. I also used to sing in a gospel choir, but at the moment the times collide with my job.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm quite the DIY-Person. As a single part-time-working mom I was used to live on a budget. This is not a bad thing as you learn to compensate the lack of money with resourcefulness and creativity. My ex-husband encouraged me in the use of all sorts of tools and taught me how to use them. So now I do a lot of minor repairs myself.

    I used to work as a journalist at a local paper for 14 year, so writing is a skill. And dealing with specific software like QuarkXpress, Photoshop and Indesign. I could help you with computer-things (not programming) - like minor trouble-shooting or creating a web-appearance, working with social-media or the likes.

    Besides that I ran a small Bed and Breakfast for some years at my old place. I had turned the basement into guest rooms by making over things I had to make the rooms cosy. From the feedback I got, people enjoyed their stay and felt much at home.

    Today I'm in charge of customer service as well as creating web content in a leading European fishing-school that developed a unique e-learning program for the German fishing-exam, which is the basis for getting a fishing-license. I love to deal with different personalities and aim to serve everybody the best I can.

    I'm always eager to learn new things - about all sorts of topics.

    I love painting, sculpting with clay or other crafts; sewing and redecorating. Gardening used to be a passion before I moved to Cologne. Now I don't have a big garden any more, just a little balcony with flower boxes.

  • Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Age

    55

  • Nationality

    German

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

I ran a 3 bedroom B&B some years back
My "business look" ;-)
Harp Holidays in Fuerteventura
I built this harp myself in a course in Ireland
I love to paint and craft
I love gardening
Workaway on Inishmore at Deirdre's place

Feedback