Anneke

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ecuador, Norway, Peru, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/12/2017 - 16/05/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    170

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    My heart jumps with joy whenever I can spend some time outside, in nature. Hiking through the mountains, working outside on the fields, horseback riding through the forest: there is so much to see and to do outside.

    I'm a biology teacher at the university of Wageningen (the Netherlands).
    This is a wonderful job and I feel very lucky that it requires my presence only for several months of the year. Whenever I am 'out of a job' I can travel and meet new people and do volunteer work.

    For a few years now, I am also a tour leader and translator for a few Dutch travel agencies. I'm very fond of these jobs, especially the one that allows me to cycle through the Netherlands, and show our country to foreigners.

    Some key words about me / my lifestyle:
    NATURE, travelling, animals, horseback riding
    TEACHING, presentation skills
    DANCING, zumba, ballroom, salsa
    YOGA, cycling, swimming
    TOUR GUIDE, family tour leader (tours with adults and kids)
    FOOD vegetarian, lots of vegetabels and no dairy at all (upsets my belly)
    HAPPY, curious, grateful, open-minded

    PREVIOUS VOLUNTEER EXPERIENCE (before I joined workaway, therefore no feedback on this website)
    monastry Nepal (teaching English)
    orphanage Nepal (child care)
    permacultural farm Costa Rica (gardening, permaculture)
    farm the Netherlands (animal care)
    tour leader for handicapped people (for several years, before I got a job as a tour leader/ tour guide)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Animal care
    Farm work in general
    Teaching
    Dancing

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, Spanish, Nepali

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    At the moment I speak both English and Dutch fluently.
    My Spanish and French are all right, but both could be improved!

    I especially look forward to improve my Spanish :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      milk / dairy / cheese / yoghurt

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Arjan and I, together with Bente (the puppy). We still lived on the farm when this picture was taken.

Feedback