From: Czech Republic

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia (Slovak Republic)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2019 - 31/05/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    After two years of art academy, I started travelling at the age of 20. The world seemed to present a richer education than any school could offer.
    I worked on my travels, many times as volunteer. Or worked to save money to travel, mainly in Holland and Ireland and the last 12 years in the Czech Republic, where my 15 year-old daughter lives.
    I worked in workshops and factories but also a lot outside: gardening, helping on farms (vegetables, chickens, cows, horses, goats, bees) and for a few years in an Irish community looking after people with disabilities.
    Learned the skill of basketry (willow) and taught others.
    For one year I looked after an elderly couple in an old manor house in Ireland, minding their medication, cooking them simple meals and feed the deer in their walled enclosure.
    I pointed walls, built stepping stones in gardens.
    Worked two years in a bronze foundery, welding bronze statues, a job I loved.
    For seven months I was in a Romanian orphanage with an Irish organisation, to improve conditions and stimulate children who had suffered severe neglect.

    Currently I am travelling in middle Europe, but due to the corona virus the possibilities of moving around is limited. Luckily I found a workaway host in a small Hungarian village where I can stay for as long as I need to.
    Challenging times for many. May whoever reads this stay well and in good spirits.

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening, basketry, philosophy :-)
    Simple building skills with cement and stone, plastering.
    Use of chainsaw, strimmer, cordless drill, hammer.
    Handling and care of animals.

  • Languages spoken

    English (fluent), German (basic), Czech (broken), Spanish (beginner).

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    Life is about learning. Though I love my books (philosophy, literature), the ultimate experience is out there, within circumstances dictating what needs doing.
    New people, new situations, always adapting.
    Besides having interesting conversations, I love to be practical as well. And learn in the process.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements