Anna

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/07/2019 - 28/11/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi there! I'm a friendly Polish Canadian who loves to travel, explore other cultures and expand my view of what's possible in the world!

    I am back in Canada working as a social worker in hospitals and in the community supporting clients to stay at home and manage their health. I am beginning my Masters in Clinical Social Work September 2021 at UBC Okanagan and thought it would be lovely to do a Workaday at the same time! I loved my experience of community during my Workaday in Europe and know the pandemic has made it a difficult time for many.

    I have loved my experiences with Workaway so far and am very interested in learning how healthy communities operate, particularly in the realm of wellness retreats and in therapeutic supports.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Team sports
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Drawing & painting

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I have great customer service and support skills! I speak and write fluently in English and have worked as a social worker for several years, including Indigenous communities, child welfare and now acute care and home health within the health care system. Through that I have done a lot of report writing and assessments and am skilled in writing and typing. I also speak basic Polish. I have been a coach for young adults for one year in two different programs and continue to assist in this leadership program worldwide. I'm a fairly active individual who can help with manual work such as cleaning, cooking, gardening, etc. I don't mind getting my hands dirty and love being in nature. I've completed an experiential Wilderness Therapy training in Spain and am currently facilitating SMART Recovery online as I want to make a difference for people with addictions. I enjoy cooking (although I wouldn't call myself a master chef) I am always improving and would love to learn new recipes to cook for others!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Polish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I would love to learn Spanish and Dutch, and can practice English with others.

  • Age

    33

  • What else ...

    I have loved meeting other workawayers during this journey so please feel free to connect! I am always up for exploring new cities, sharing ideas or providing recommendations, as well as journeying together in this lovely world :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Gluten and dairy intolerent

    • Special dietary requirements
      Gluten and dairy intolerent

Photos

Feedback