Ani

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Denmark, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Norway, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/05/2018 - 01/04/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello, I'm Ani. I live in Melbourne, and have all my life.

    In the past couple of years I've felt a yearning to move to a natural environment and live a more simple, self-sufficient lifestyle. I would love the experience to develop building skills, grow my own food and generally live more harmoniously with nature.

    I've always enjoyed being very active. Nothing beats that ecstatic energy you get after going for a run! It's great to be outdoors. I go on camping trips and find beautiful hikes to walk as often as I can. There's something surreal about brushing your teeth under the stars.

    Currently I work in a kindergarten that runs a bush kinder program. This is inspired by the forest schooling practices used in preschools throughout Scandinavian countries. I think it's fantastic for children to be outside, playing in the dirt, climbing trees and using their imagination. My thought process is that if I can develop skills to have a better understanding of the environment I am in, I will feel more confident and self-reliant and will be able to pass my knowledge onto the youngsters!

    As a hobby on the side, which has become a growing passion, I have been practicing karate for the past year. The more I discover about the history of this practice, the more guidance it provides for my life.

    I am excited to meet new people and learn new ways of living. Life is an adventure!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have been working with young children for a number of years
    I volunteer with a garden club at a community health centre
    I volunteer with a dance group for intellectually disabled adults
    I recently received my yellow belt in Shotokan karate
    I am a good listener

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    I am very keen to learn bush crafting and building skills. I would appreciate the opportunity to work in a garden to know more about growing fruits and vegetables, however I am happy to help in any way that the host needs.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I have a fructose intolerance and don't eat much meat

Photos

Enjoyed some rainbow cookies wearing my rainbow clothes on the top of the Rainbow Mountain in Peru!

Feedback