Anesce

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Canada, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, United States, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2020 - 01/05/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    785

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I have lived in 9 cities across 2 countries in the past decade. I have lived in China for nearly 3 years as both a student and as a working professional. My degrees are in Chinese and English literature (creative writing concentration) and I value cultural exchange. In China, I was often found studying at tea houses, attending language exchange events, and always found writing. I would explore my local environment by jumping onto a bus without an agenda and hopping off when the place looked interesting!
    I am never found without a pen and notebook by my side. I am particularly interested in sharing Chinese culture (especially tea culture) with others. Other interests of mine include: raising awareness on domestic violence, participating in writing groups, cooking plant-based (vegan) meals, studying languages (Chinese, Hindi), attending book readings, and yoga. I have finished writing my first book and am in the process of writing my second book.
    In Workaway, I am seeking to serve a community in a respectful, calm, and creative manner.
    LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/anesce/
    Blog: https://neverthelessaway.wordpress.com/
    Couchsurfing: Anesce Dremen

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have professional experience in giving presentations (English, Mandarin), creating social media content & strategy, non-profit leadership, writing/editing, mentoring students, and liaising with key stake holders. I have strong skills in: language acquisition, tutoring, writing, research, editing, creative writing, amateur photography, weeding, organization, and nonviolent communication.
    I have volunteered as an assistant teacher with Tsinghua middle school (in Beijing, China) for two weeks before teaching one-on-one English classes for four months following. I have worked in my home university as a Writing Center fellow (with more than 100 hours of face-to-face tutoring), English Language Learning tutor, Chinese tutor, and library assistant. While in Chengdu, I interpreted a day-trip of tea picking and manufacturing from Chinese into English.

    LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/anesce/

  • Languages spoken

    English (native), Mandarin Chinese (advanced), Hindi (novice)

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    United States of America

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Feedback