Andrea

  • Italy
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    Activities i am interested in:

    I love losing myself in unknown countries, meeting other travelers and local people. My plan is not to have a rigid plan.

  • Description

    I am a wild traveler-addicted italian who just graduated as an MSc student in Environmental Sciences at Wageningen University (The Netherlands). I focused my studies on environmental justice and I am specialized in women's rights in natural sciences.

    I am passionate about deep talks in front of a bonfire, traveling, queer lifestyle and pizza with gorgonzola. I feel lost when people ask me "where do you see yourself in the near future?". I love losing myself in an unknown country, meeting new people and exploring myself while traveling.

    I am an hard working and enthusiastic person with an outgoing and friendly attitude. I believe in the respect of differences and in the value of education towards other thoughts.
    During my volunteering experiences all around the world (e.g. Georgia, Australia, Slovakia, Serbia, Germany, Spain), I extended my knowledge on community engagement, sustainability and human rights protection.

    My drive is to build a socially inclusive and environmental-friendly society in which every citizen can freely achieve her/his/their goals.

    Creativity, empathy, critical and creative thinking and cooperation are my key values.

    I am fascinated by how everything is interconnected, from the human to the natural domains.
    I like thinking of negative life experiences as broken pots of Kintsugi Japanese art. Why? Kintsugi shows that a person is beautiful with her/his golden cracks.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    Writing
    Movies & TV

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance

    Able to teach about:  

    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    As for my volunteering experiences, I took part in many international projects about human rights (feminist, LGBTQI+ and migrant) and environmental protection. For example, I taught biology to migrant people living in Italy. In Slovakia, Serbia and Germany I tutored local communities about gender and LGBTQI rights.
    While studying in Italy, I decided to maintain my “connection” with people in need by volunteering with many environmental associations, such as Food not Bombs. There, I cooked waste food from markets for homeless people. From my volunteering experiences, I learned how to deal with new situations and work in harmony with other people.
    During the last few years, I have also been involved in many workaway projects. For example, in Belgium I worked in an art gallery where I was responsible for welcoming guests and working in the cafeteria.

    Currently, I live in an international eco-community where I learned many environmental-friendly practices (e.g. how to make our house self-sufficient, gardening, composting, preparing stuff to not buy new ones, cook vegeterian food and....dancing capoeira and Djing).
    During my Master programme, I worked on women’s perspective for environmental sciences because I truly believe that every citizen benefits from a woman-friendly society. Specifically, during my Thesis, I focused on identifying those strategies and requirements for making the cycling system in a sustainable city women-friendly. From this work, I gained a strong interest in women's empowerment in environmental sciences which lead me to publish my thesis in a book, present it at the 7è Congrés Internacional and XVIII Congreso Ibérico de la Bicicleta in Barcelona and teach in the course "sustainable cities" at the University of Amsterdam.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I could provide teaching classes in Italian and English. Italian is my mother tongue whether I can fluently speak English since I lived for three years in The Netherlands where MSc classes were thought in English.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    Italy

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback