Anaximander

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    At home

  • Description

    Hello,
    My name is Anaximander (it wasn’t my idea) but I also go by my middle name, Jason. I am from a small town north of Boston, Massachusetts, USA, but I have worked all over the United States, on land and at sea. I am good with my hands, and have put them to work in many different jobs (See “Skills” section below). I am a seasoned traveller, having lived out of a backpack for over a year before upgrading to a van. I have been to 20 countries and 41 U.S. states, but there is much more of the world I would like to see. I hold both US and German passports.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I am skilled in horticulture, having worked as a professional gardener. I have also worked in construction and landscaping. I have basic carpentry and mechanical skills, and I have used most hand and power tools. I have operated many types of heavy machinery. I am trained in primitive wilderness survival, and I have taught these skills to children and adults at a summer camp. I have an undergrad degree in environmental science, with a concentration in environmental field research. I can sing and play guitar, but I'll shut up if you want me to. I am a fast learner, and I am eager to learn new skills and improve the skills I have. I am an experienced commercial fishermen and mariner, with a total of over a year spent at sea in the waters off of Alaska and California. I am CPR and first-responder certified, and I am a certified Fishing Vessel Safety Drill Conductor. I can provide professional references upon request.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    Other than the fact that if I eat shrimp I will stop breathing, I am the least picky eater in the world.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      shrimp

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback