Amy

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Kenya, Malawi, Namibia, Tanzania, Uganda, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/05/2017 - 08/05/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    **Update** Currently living and working as an English Teacher in Northern Vietnam(but always up for an adventure!)**

    Hi, I'm Amy! While I may not be excited about turning 30 this year, I'm truly grateful that I've been able to explore nearly 30 countries over the last 5 years. I've been having an amazing adventure meeting new people, learning obscure languages and hopefully giving back more to this world than I'm taking out of it.

    I am TEFL/TESOL certified teacher with years of experience teaching youth from 3-25 years of age. I spent last year in Africa traveling, working and reconnecting with people who have become family and places that have become my home. I've had some fantastic Workaway experiences teaching at schools in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and Malawi. While I like traveling, I prefer really living and settling in new places. I think it's important to spend quality time getting to know a country, its people, language and culture.

    In addition to teaching, I have a strong background in Social Work, primarily working with orphans and at risk-youth in the United States. I also have years of experience as a professional nanny and I've taken care of dogs, cats and even a clan of monkeys! Throughout my workaway experiences, I've learned a lot about permaculture, gardening and even helping construct a beautiful Earthship in Belize! I am an incredibly patient and easy going person, able to work and live in many conditions. I've spent months living in lodges and hostels and I love the opportunity to meet and interact with people from all over the world. I am just as comfortable in my mud-hut in rural Namibia as I am in a flat in busy Nairobi.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    While my primary skills are working with youth, I have worked and volunteered with a large variety of community outreach programs. I have some experience in working with animals, both domestic and wild. Over the years I have also worked in food service and hospitality.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I have a passion for learning languages. I'm especially keen on Bantu languages.

  • Age

    33

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    I am committed to living mindfully in all aspects of my life. I find that my mediation and yoga practice help me to be a patient and understanding teacher. I love sharing these passions with my students as well.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback