Amy

From: Hong Kong

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Greenland, Netherlands, Poland, Russia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/01/2020 - 01/06/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    366

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I was born in Hong Kong and have taught business subjects and English for more than 20 years in secondary schools there. I quitted my job more than 8 years ago and have travelled to 43 countries. I enjoy traveling very, very much! In addition to sightseeing, I am also very interested in understanding the culture of foreign countries and cooking Chinese dishes for foreigners as well as sharing the Chinese culture with them. Moreover, I would like to gain experience on working in animal or organic farms and being a baby, pet or house sitter, etc.
    From 2016 onwards, I have been a volunteer for many times in animal farms, fruit farms, organic farms, restaurants, hostels, a local tour company and families in Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, Morocco, Faroe Islands, etc. For details, please refer to the feedbacks from my previous hosts in my personal profile below.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I got my BA (Hons) Degree in Business Studies (major: Banking) and teachers' training certificate (major: Commercial subjects; minor: English) in Hong Kong. I have been a teacher for more than 20 years in Hong Kong. I gained experience on teaching business subjects upto high school level and English upto junior secondary school level. Besides, I am used to and interested in communicating with teenagers. Moreover, I am familiar with organizing activities. Furthermore, I can manage clerical work.

    Being a Christian, I have been a volunteer of my church. So, I had experience on charity work.

    Since I do my own housework everyday, I am familiar with cleaning, cooking and shopping.

    As my parents were vegetable farmers and we had a garden as well, I gained a bit experience on farming and gardening when I was young. I found such work very interesting!

    My family kept two dogs when I was young. l loved playing and looking after them very much! I think I can manage to be a pet sitter.

    Although I am single and do not have any children of my own, I sometimes helped my sisters and brothers look after their children. I loved babysitting and child care very much!

    Before my parents passing away, I always looked after them. Hence, I got hands-on experience on taking care of elderly.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Chinese (Cantonese): Fluent

  • Age

    58

  • Nationality

    China (Hong Kong)

  • What else ...

    Other than sightseeing during my trips, I am eager to understand the culture of foreign countries. Therefore, I would like to stay in host families and do what the local people do.

    For more information about me, please refer to my interview conducted by Go Explore (in English & French): "Interview d' Amy, Woofeuse de Hong Kong" - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ohbpqxelex8

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback