Amy

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2019 - 31/07/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1351

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I am a 26-year-old, British born lover of music, travel, literature, adventure and life in general. Nicknamed 'Bubbles' by the rugby team I coached for seven years for my exuberance and energy, I am a keen traveler and love to learn about the world 'on the ground'. I love to share with and learn from people from all walks of life, experience life in cultures different from my own and find adventure in unfamiliar places.

    I prefer a simpler lifestyle filled with time spent outside enjoying nature and being active. I began practicing yoga nearly 10 years ago and it has become an important part of my lifestyle, so it is important for me to have time and space outdoors to practice but other than that, I love learning new things, I love teaching what I have learnt and I like to keep busy (for the most part!) so I hope to find a Workaway that encompasses all of these things.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a kick-ass singer and love to perform at open mic nights and jam with other musicians.
    I love to meet new people and am great at working in social environments or front of house roles.
    Working behind the bar for 7 years has given me confidence working with people as well as hospitality and tourism skills. I have worked with children in a variety of roles which has taught me empathy and compassion.
    I have a positive attitude to life and have consistently shown myself to be adaptable to new situations and challenges.

    I have enjoyed a huge variety of professions and pursuits including:

    Hospitality and Events:

    - Chalet Host,
    - London Bartender,
    - Restaurant/Bar Manager,
    - Event Manager,

    Marketing, Business & Management:

    - Technical Insurance Underwriter,
    - Social Media Manager,
    - Brand Digital Growth Adviser,

    Childcare, Sports, Arts:

    - Volunteer Youth Rugby Coach,
    - Babysitter,
    - Freelance Vocal Coach,
    - Amateur Photographer,
    - Writer/Editor.

    My LinkedIn is https://www.linkedin.com/in/amy-edwards-107b1241/

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I am a happy-go-lucky type with a lust for life and I want to make the world a better place and understand that this can be done in both big and small ways.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Doing the Tough Mudder Challenge in the UK in2015 with my work colleagues to raise money for Macmillan Cancer Support
Learning to surf in Cabarete, Dominican Republic in 2016 with friends from Germany and the USA (I am second from left in the yellow)
With my Mum, Dad and younger brother whilst on holiday together in 2016
With my god-son Thomas in 2016.
Exploring Los Angeles, California in February 2018 whilst on a long-layover.
Visiting a friend I met travelling at her home in Texas, USA in 2017.
The standard mode of transport in the Dominican Republic - A motorbike taxi.
A photo I took whilst road tripping around France in 2015.
After performing a gig raising money for victims of the floods in the Caribbean in 2017 with Drummer - Jhomar from the Dominican Republic, Guitarist - Juan from Peru and Saxophonist/Harmonica - Mike from Canada (and our adopted puppy!)
With my Cuban Ma & Pa before leaving in 2016 - I spoke very little Spanish at the time and they spoke ZERO English - although they don't look happy - We had a lot of fun trying to make conversation!
Snorkeling for the first time in Cuba, 2016.
Performing a duet with my dear friend Pedro, from Venezuela at a jam night in the Dominican Republic in 2017.
With schoolchildren in the Dominican Republic, 2017.
Taking a break from Hiking in the Chapada Diamantina National Park, Brazil 2017.

Feedback