Caitlin

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/01/2020 - 20/01/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I am Colombian American, though I was raised in the US and am not fluent in Spanish, I feel very connected to Colombia and am excited to be going to a long visit without a return date. I am excited to learn Spanish, spend time with mi Colombian familia, learn about traditional foods and how to cook them, learn indigenous knowledge(with permission), learn to work with horses, learn animal husbandry, and all things earth skill based. I have 7 years experience gardening and herbalism and 4 years hunting and deer processing and putting up food. I tan hides, leather work, weave, make herbal medicine, harvest and process wild foods, make plant dyes, and I love to swim. I have experience with pruning fruit trees, carpentry, fermentation, and gardening. I am intolerant to rasicm, sexism, classism. I consider myself, and think most folxs would, a radical person, in thought and action. I am a radical meat eater and do not want to eat vegan, vegetarian is okay. I have participating in the life death life process of hunting, harvesting, and tanning, and it is an integral part of who I am. I am a conscious communicated and am self-aware. I drink very very little and don't smoke. I am very health oriented and love to stay active.
    I believe strongly in preserving indigenous ways of life and knowledge, and protecting and aiding indigenous folxs in their right to be recognized and honored. I also believe ancestral knowledge is something we all have a right to.
    I am a calm, collected, shy, silly, but sensitive person. I consider myself mostly introverted, but I am hoping being in this vibrant country will help me connect with my more out going Colombian side.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Hunting, butchering, gardening, pruning, tanning hides, leather work, weaving, cooking, food preservation, fermentation, carpentry

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    26

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Dairy and gluten

    • Special dietary requirements
      Gluten free and dairy free, except goat products and butter.

Feedback