Amelie

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, Estonia, Luxembourg, Panama, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2020 - 30/06/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hey, my name is Amelie, I am 18 years old and I'm from a small town in the west of Germany (near Dortmund). This summer, I have graduated from High School and now I would like to use this year (2020/2021) to travel before I am going to university.
    From september until december I travelled through Europe together with a friend. We spent some time on a rescue farm in Portugal where we took care of the animals and the general maintenance. In october, we travelled to Italy where we stayed with a local host family for two months; we took care of the four children and helped in the household or with cooking.
    For the upcoming months, I'm pretty flexible concerning my travel plans. I also know that is quite difficult to travel right now because of covid so I'm open to any country without travel restrictions :).
    For me, travelling is also a lot more than improving languages. I am keen to meet new people, see new places, get to know new cultures, learn and exchange skills and make some unforgettable memories and experiences that will make me grow as a person and form my personality.
    Apart from that, I am also looking forward to travel to step out of my comfort zone and become more confident. I used to be a bit shy but I notice that I become more and more extroverted when I'm confronted with new challenges and people.

    To talk about myself and my personality I would say that I'm a person that never wants to be far away from laughter and happiness. I'm always open have fun and share jokes, but i can also enjoy deeper conversations (I can get a bit philosophical sometimes ;)).
    In my freetime, I like to read and also to write own stories, meet with my friends, do sports/workouts (sometimes) or go for a walk. Since I'm also really interested in learning languages, I started learning Spanish in my freetime some months ago and I'm thrilled to learn more languages in the future.
    Furthermore, I am also part of a choir since two years so I enjoy singing with other people.

    I hope I could give you a little insight into who I am and thanks for taking the time to read it! :)

  • Interests

    Beach
    Dancing
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture
    Events & social
    Fashion or beauty
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have been privately tutoring students from my school since one and a half years in several subjects (German, English, French and maths). Some years ago, I have also done a placement in a primary school in Germany where I assisted the teacher in the classroom, supported students who needed help and supervised the children in the afternoon during the homework- and play-time. That's why I have already gained some experience with teaching and supervising children which I enjoy a lot.
    Another work experience I have gained was when I did a placement in the field of speech therapy. At this place, I worked with children and adults who have problems with speaking and who need training in it. Thus, I could also gain some knowledge in this field and especially how to interact with persons who have learning disabilities or other special needs.
    I also have helped in the household (tasks like cleaning or doing the dishes) and I'm trying to become better at cooking at the moment.
    Last but not least, I have grown up with several kinds of animals (dog, rabbits, cats), so I love to spend time with animals and care for them. I also did horseback riding when I was younger.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    18

  • What else ...

    I'll be an Au Pair in Luxembourg from April until end of June - if you'd like to meet or just chat, hit me up :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Pescetarian (no meat, but fish)

Photos

Feedback