Amanda & Fredrik

From: Sweden

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2019 - 01/09/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi!

    We're so happy you've found our profile!

    We're Amanda, 23, and Fredrik, 27, from Sweden. We've been travelling the world together since 2018 and done many amazing Workaways on the way - all of them has given us unique experiences that we're very thankful for!

    We both love travelling and meeting new people. It's such a pleasure to be invited to someone's home and to learn about their culture.

    Amanda has a big passion for travelling. She did her first workaway two years ago on a farm in Switzerland and it was truly amazing, two of the best weeks in her life! She's also been volunteering at a Swedish music festival and at the Ice Hockey World Championship in Copenhagen, which both were incredible experiences. Back home, she used to work in restaurants, hotels and with child care - it was something she liked doing but also a good way to save money for her future travels.

    Fredrik loves adventures, sports and the outdoors. He used to be a hockey goaltender and he's always up for a hike. In Sweden, he used to work as a kitchen countertop templator. When he met Amanda in 2017, he decided to quit his job to travel the world with her.

    Together we decided to go to Canada on a Working Holiday Visa for a year. We had an amazing time working, travelling and doing Workaways. We then travelled for a bit in the USA before deciding to go to the other part of the world - Australia! We just arrived in Queensland and are beyond excited for this year.

    A little more about us: We're very happy and easy-going, we love to travel and explore. We prefer smaller villages and the calm rather than the busy city life. A beautiful view will make our whole day, we don't need much more!

    Amanda really enjoys taking walks, listening to music, singing, baking, going to the gym, playing floorball, watching ice hockey, learning new languages (she has studied English, French, German, Italian, Latin and Finnish and can speak pretty good French and a bit German, at least understandable!), reading books, cuddling with dogs and spending time with her family. Fredrik is more adventurous; he really enjoys river rafting, canyoning and backcountry hiking.

    Amanda has previous experience as a housekeeper, fronst desk agent, aupair, deli associate, barista and customer service representative - just to mention a few. She's pretty curious and eager to learn new things. She loves meeting and working with people but has never tried out construction for example - if you want something professionally done in that area, she might not be the perfect fit, but Fredrik is quite handy and has renovated his own condo.

    That's why we're so great together - we complement each other very well and work really well together, but we don't mind working apart either. Amanda is a bit more creative and philosophical while Fredrik is more of the practical one. Which is great since we can share our knowledge!

    We really love exploring new areas and would be very happy to have time to do so when staying with you!
    We hope to hear from you and feel free to ask us any questions you might have! We can't wait to get to know you, your culture and your country!

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    At home Amanda has been working within tourism, in a hotel, as a teacher, in a supermarket, in a café/restaurant and with customer service. Her latest job in Sweden was as responsible for a juice bar and in Canada she worked as a deli associate in Calgary. She also runs a travel blog, which is mostly a hobby.

    Fredrik has worked as a fork lift operator and as a kitchen countertop templator back home in Sweden, and in Calgary he worked in a restaurant.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    24 & 28

  • Nationality

    Swedish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nuts

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Learned how to surf in Australia!
At our previous workaway outside of Montréal!
Milking a cow for the first time!
A magical hike in Norway.
One of my first times kayaking!
At the end of our hike in Mont-Tremblant!
Beautiful Switzerland
Met such a cute dog when visiting Oslo!
Christmas in New Zeeland!
Hockey Hall of Fame!
Visiting a maori village in New Zeeland!

Feedback