Andy & Amalia

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Denmark, Norway, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2018 - 13/10/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    235

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    We are a young belgian couple in our thirties always looking for some new and rewarding adventure. Before being on workaway, we travelled quite a lot as tourist or for study (Senegal, Tanzania, South Africa, Australia, Russia, Cambodia, UK, Ireland, Northern Ireland, France, Greece, Switzerland). Last year we decided to break from the work-eat-sleep-repeat routine for a while, to discover news countries, new cultures, new ways of living, to help and meet new people and friends and to share this experience with our two dogs.
    So we took a year break in our IT career (Andy's still working part-time but flexible) in September 2018 and started traveling Europe by bus, train and ferries.
    As we are having a year break in our career, our time is precious and so does every workaway experience. That is the reason why we are only looking for project with honest work description and where we can really SHARE experience and at least some work, interest and meals with hosts and other workawayers if there are some.
    We are funny, hard workers and trustable people. We really like to help people around us with our own skills, work with people, share tasks and always happy to learn new things. We love new challenges, working outside, talking with people, laughing and joking 😊! We think before we do, we are not afraid about being dirty and enjoy every outside work. During our free time in workaways, we try to enjoy the country and nature around as much as we can with some hikes and would love to hear advises from you about what to see.
    We want our life to be the more sustainable as possible and are looking for workaway projects that meets our values. We love nature and care a lot about environment and ecology. We are trying to eat organic food and to avoid plastic and any waste as much as we can.
    As they are part of the trip, we are looking for a place where our dogs can share our daily experience with us and stay close to us or to someone else most of the time. But we understand that people might feel uncomfortable with having dogs at their place (guests, other dogs, animals, ...). Here is what we offer. They are both well behaved (traveling with them would be impossible otherwise), quiet and can get along with humans, kids and other dogs. If your place has some restricted area to dogs we can easily explain to them where they can go and where they cannot (kitchen, upstairs, ...). If the work is based on a schedule, we can switch the dog sitting between the two of us as Andy still working part time. Unfortunately they love small animals like cats, chicken and ducks a bit to much. So if those are not behind fences, our dogs will probably try to use some really good magician tricks to make them disappear 😉. But it came from our workaway experiences that they can get along with sheep and horses! You will find more about them in the what else section but we are sure you will fall in love with them at first sight 😊.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Project Management, Computer, Outside work, Dog training, Gardening, House work, ...
    Here is the list of the work we did using workaway:
    Finland: Dog car, woodwork in an off grid environment
    Norway: Dog care
    Sweden: Gardening ou house maintenance
    Estonia: Helping in an eco hostel
    Austria: Horse farm
    France: Refurbishing old furniture, gardening
    Italy: General maintenance and gardening in a castle
    Danemark: Painting walls
    Norway: Beach cleaning from marine litter, sailing

  • Languages spoken

    French, English

  • Age

    33 & 33

  • Nationality

    Belgian

  • What else ...

    Although it's a couple account, we are able to work separately like we were two workawayers coming from different places and not stuck to each other all the time (we are kind of an old couple now ^^).

    ANDY:
    He has a background in engineering. He is still working part time for Belgium but flexible. He is working in IT with websites, CMS. He is tall, crazy and can get along with everyone (really everyone). People management is really his thing. And he can be a good hAndy (no joke 😂) man. He loves joking, working outside, nature, beers, pizza and fries.

    AMALIA:
    She has a background in engineering (yes we met at university) and in climatology. She quit her job in IT (websites too) and is fully available. She is small and has a completely crazy and creative mind (painting, palet woodwork, DIY, sewing, ... see @thaisandthelemontree on facebook). She loves nature, being outside, laughing, fries, pizza and pastries.

    NALA:
    She is a lovely, kind, quiet and not-alone-in-her-head Golden Retriever of 6 years old. She loves food, cuddles, hugs, blankets, flies, soft toys, hiking, sleeping, pizza and fries. She prefers warm to hot weather and can stay in front of a stove or fire for hours.

    THAÏS:
    She is a lovely, kind, quiet and crazy Alaskan Malamute (although she thinks she is a Golden Retriever, but don't tell her 😉) of 6 years old. She loves food, balls, rivers, beaches, hiking, sleeping, pizza and fries. She is totally in love with horses. She prefers cold to freezing weather and can ask to sleep outside when everyone is in front of the fire.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Racism, selfishness, unpleasant and dishonest people

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are vegetarian (no meat no fish) but have a lot of meat eater friends 😜. We prefer not cooking meat for humans but are not afraid to do it for carnivores (our dogs are not vegetarian haha).

Photos

Feedback