Tomáš & Serena

  • Czech Republic
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are Serena (25) and Tomáš (26) a Czech travel couple.

    We seek an alternative way of life. A life where one doesn’t work solely for money and status, but rather for something greater. To take the less-traveled road helping nature, people or animals. We’ve come to appreciate volunteering as a useful tool for our mission. Lending a hand where it’s needed and at the same time learning something new from each other without commerce is truly a dream come true. Volunteering represents many values that we seem to lack as humanity and that’s exactly why we strive to revive what’s been lost.
    In addition, to stimulate the core human values and to seek an alternative to "normality".

    Having said that, we spent 8 months (2019 - 2020) in Ecuador volunteering with children living in poverty and two months with an Indian community in the jungle. We learned much from this experience. From December 2020 we are in Spain exactly in Granada as volunteers in the program Erasmus+. We work with children - support in kindergarden, school and with juvenile immigrants from Africa (education, excursions, sport,..). The work is amazing. Also we are in charge of a greenhouse cultivating various crops.


    We’ve fallen in love with the Spanish culture and language. Now we would like to discover Canary Islands - something between South America and Spain we imagine.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Hiking
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Blogging
    Cooking & food

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    We´ve spent the last 17 months volunteering. This has greatly improved our skills in various fields such as : education, teaching, administration, agriculture, propagation, repairs, IT maintenance. We´re good with dogs and all around animal lovers. Always looking for new challenges we´ve learned to overcome obstacles and be flexible. Serena is a bachelor of economics and has a fitness trainer certificate. Tomáš has experience working with people as a tourist guide, language support and has a massage certificate.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Czech: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Russian: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    27 & 26

  • What else ...

    Important part of our lives are our dogs and in general we are animal lovers (but they don’t travel with us) . We like sports a lot - yoga, gym, bicycles, basketball, volleyball, hiking, climbing. Moreover, we adore nature, literature, languages and cooking. We prefer the adventurous low cost traveling - sleeping under the sky or in a tent, cooking outside, hitchhiking and also long distance hiking trails. Escaping normality shaping reality is our motto.
    Link to our Couchsurfing profile: https://www.couchsurfing.com/users/2005519029

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback