Allison

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Mexico, Nepal, Panama, United States, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2020 - 14/12/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Hello!
    My name is Allison. I'm from the Upper Peninsula of Michigan in the United States (one of the snowiest places on Earth!). It would be a dream to have a whole life of workaway's as a traveling muralist and volunteer.

    I am creative and warm-hearted with a deep love of travel and living within new cultures.

    I am a very hard worker that is not afraid to get dirty or live without luxuries.
    I am open minded, easy to get along with, and happy to lend a helping hand 24 hours a day. I'm not one to complain. I am versatile- I can be quiet and mind to myself or I am very happy to be an extra family member. I am independent and social. :)
    I've been traveling through workaway since the spring of 2019.
    I clean up after my self and am always conscientious of others. (Update! since the pandemic began in March, I have started my own LLC small business- a cleaning company! So it is safe to say I am professionally clean haha)

    I believe 100% in honest communication- If I am unsure of or worried about something, I'll ask about it. I am NOT passive-aggressive. I will very politely say how I am feeling.

    In 2020 I completed an online course in Teaching English as a Foreign Language. I am now 120 hour TEFL-certified. My current teaching experience includes painting/drawing classes to children and adults, but I am eager to begin teaching or tutoring English.

    I am hoping to develop my grasp on the Spanish language as much as possible this year.

    I love trying new foods! I love all foods!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Photography
    Technology
    Cooking & food

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping around the house
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Skills:
    I am a fine art acrylic painter (some of my paintings are in my photos) and a designer. In 2019 I graduated university with a bachelors in Human Centered (Industrial) Design.
    Some of my favorite arts include:
    painting
    graphic design (4 years of experience with Adobe Illustrator)
    interior design
    ceramics
    furniture design/restoration
    mosaics
    sewing and embroidery
    jewelry smithing
    wood working
    CAD /3D model building

    I have many years experience with photography and photoshop. I've been involved with marketing and advertising as well as copy writing, and would jump at the chance to help a business develop their in-person or online presence.
    My Dad just built my parents' dream house and I have had the pleasure of helping him with all kinds of projects. I now have experience in tile work, drywall taping, using power tools such as nail guns and chop saws, and assisting with pouring/smoothing concrete among other things. I can also say I am now an expert at painting walls.

    I am not afraid to say I am an excellent cleaner and organizer and will never complain about cleaning. I find it very satisfying to get things in order.
    I'd love to help cook any meals and learn all I can about foods around the world. Some of my specialties include breakfast eggs and baking cakes!

    Work experience:
    Teaching art/painting classes
    Cleaning services/housekeeper
    Administrative duties - now with understanding of beginning and running a small business
    Nannying
    TEFL Certified
    Cake decoration
    Graphic design
    Advertising, marketing, business development
    Saleswoman at a retro boutique for over a year
    Private-duty [high functioning] elderly care aid/companion (can supply reference)
    Private-duty paraplegic care aid (can supply reference)
    5+ year experience copywriting
    Semi-professional house + dog sitter :) (can supply references)
    3+ years experience waiting tables and being a hostess at restaurants
    Volunteer gardener

    Workaway experience:
    Painting fine art murals
    Administrative duties- ordering items online and over the phone, running errands, organizing store rooms, processing and packing online business orders and delivering them to the post office
    Cleaning, cleaning, cleaning
    Using power tools such as nail guns and chop saws
    Light tiling work
    Painting walls and ceilings
    Professional bed and breakfast staff experience - continental danish breakfast, housekeeping (cleaning rooms, making beds, restocking, fulfilling guest requests), checking in guests, customer service, left responsible for the whole b&b some evenings
    Gardening/landscaping
    Tending a greenhouse

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Very eager to be fluent in Spanish, happy to teach English!

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    My previous host (Hovedgaard, Denmark) has since moved off of the Workaway site, but I can easily supply a reference if needed. Thank you for stopping by my profile!
    -Allison

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback