Alja

From: Slovenia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/09/2018 - 31/07/2021

  • Badges


  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello!
    I'm Alja. I am coming from Slovenia. I am 51 years old and I have quitted my 20-years job for a gap year in February 2018. The only fixed thing for the year 2018 was that I would like to walk the Camino trail (800 km) in Spain and I did it. I am prepared to learn new things. From May 2019 I am sole entrepreneur.
    I love to travel and I love dogs. I have travelled alone, with friend(s) or with agency to different countries all over the world.
    As I have travelled a lot also due to my job (management system assessor), I do not have my own dog anymore (I had two lovely Labrador Retrievers girls). I was an instructor for rescue dog's (avalanches, ruins...) handlers for 12 years. I would like to take care of some furry friend(s).
    I like to help where-ever needed. After the earthquake in Nepal (April 2015) I collected some money for Nepali friends and went there to volunteer as a teacher (math and English) in remote village in Tsum valley. During spare time I helped the family where I lived on the field and to clean the courtyard after the horses.
    My preferred hobby is photography. I had 3 solo photo exhibitions. I was in the support team of Slovene ultrarunner Zdravko Čufar, on ultramarathon Spartathlon (246 km from Atene to Sparta in Greece) where I was appointed as a photographer, for sport massages and some cooking. I do not prefer to cook, but if needed I can cook some simple dishes. As I have a driver licence I have driven also camper van during the race.
    I like to work in a team but I am used to work also alone. Especially when I need some "me" time.
    During my travelling I saw that the Earth is so polluted with plastic, that I am trying to introduce as much »Zero waste« principles in my everyday life as possible. I try to reuse some old objects with new purposes. I like also to sew, knit and crocheting.
    As I live in a city I do not have opportunity to have a garden, but I have helped my grandfather on the garden as a little girl and I miss the contact with the soil.
    I like to know some new countries and how people live there. For some time I would like to make a change from "office work" to work in the nature.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    -been an instructor for rescue dogs (avalanches, ruins) and like to work with animals
    -been volunteer as a teacher in primary school in Nepal and help on the fields
    -in my childhood I helped grandfather in the garden
    -work in the house
    -I like to knitt, crochet, sew
    -photography
    -driving licence
    -have some experiences with publishing a blog, basic computer knowledge - office package (e.g. Microsoft Word, Excel, Power Point…)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Serbian: Fluent

  • Age

    52

  • Nationality

    Slovene

  • What else ...

    I have a blog: http://odklopi.blogspot.si/ and instagram profiles: @odklopi and @laundries_of_the_world

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      No meat (yes for fishes)

Photos

Feedback