Alison & Stephen

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/01/2019 - 10/03/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    We are Alison & Steve, an English couple living in France. We bravely moved to France 16 years ago when our 2 children were 10 & 6 years old. We lived in a small hilltop village in Provence and loved it. We worked very hard to integrate into the local community but we still find speaking French a challenge (unlike our children who are completely fluent). We ran a successful B&B for 12 years. It was fully booked with guests returning year afer year, a sign that we were doing something right and something we are very proud of.
    We also bought a run down restaurant 10 minutes away from our village and converted into a villa that we rented out for the holiday season. We loved meeting new people and when guests returned it was like friends coming home to stay. We have now sold our B&B and live in our rental villa. We consider ourselves in 'pre-retirement'..!
    Steve is very hands on with any DIY jobs including gardening, pruning, decorating, building, plumbing, electrics, fitting kitchens and bathrooms. He used to work in London in IT so moving here was a massive change of life, especially for him.
    I enjoy cooking, gardening, entertaining, walking and going on holidays !
    We are looking forward to our 3rd trip to NZ working , travelling our way around as we have done before. We feel that living and working closely with a family is a great experience. We would like to be working outside if possible.
    Ideally we would like to do something that we have never done before. We always put in 100% and are keen to learn new skills, we are happy to do almost anything ! I don't really want to be babysitting, cleaning and changing beds but I am happy to help out in the kitchen with cooking now and again.
    We are very tidy, clean and organised, we are happy to get up early and work alongside other people as part of a team or by ourselves.
    We both have full driving licences and will have a rental car the whole time we are in NZ. We're both non-smokers and eat pretty much everything.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • What skills do you have?

    Building, gardening, DIY, cooking, general maintenance,

  • Languages spoken

    English (mother tongue), French (we get by)

  • Age

    54 & 56

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Steve & I spent 9 weeks in 2017 and 10 weeks in 2018 travelling and working in NZ. We loved every moment and have booked our flights to return and do it all again in 2020. In 2017 we worked in Tauranga on a Kiwi farm and had such a fantastic experience that we went back the follwoing year, we also worked on a sheep farm near Queenstown. Again had a great time. In 2018 we worked on a highland cattle farm in Kerikeri, an olive and hazlenut farm in Sedon and the kiwi farm that we had worked at the previous year.

    We are looking for another work-away for Jan/Feb 2020. We really do enjoy learning new skills and doing something that we have never done before.
    Thanks
    Alison & Steve

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      no blue cheese for me and Steve is not keen on cauliflower

Photos

Feedback