Alice & Thomas

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/01/2021 - 01/08/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Our status

    At home


    We are both really interested in horticulture and sustainable living! We both love to build, grow and make things outdoors. Wild swimming, hiking and emersion in nature is what we aim for!

  • Description

    We are looking to travel around the UK and work in sustainable/eco living places. This is our first year using workaway but we have both done a lot of volunteering and have both worked abroad independently. At some point in the future we will be looking to visit places in Europe that we are keen to explore, but for now we'd like to explore see what our tiny Island has to offer
    We both want to gain more experience in horticulture and growing food. I (Alice) am really interested in rewilding and organic farming. I spent a lot of my time out in nature practising doing what ever takes my fancy e.g. identifying bird calls, learning about trees and looking for insects. Tom is a keen horticulturalist too, he loves horses and carpentry and learning new skills.
    It has always been a dream of mine to live as self sufficient and plastic free as possible so I think visiting like minded people is the way to make that my reality.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Writing
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    Horticulture
    Animal care
    Admin and IT work
    Customer service
    Ecology
    Rewilding
    Beginner Spanish

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    26 & 24

  • What else ...

    Alice is a keen rock climber, she has been climbing for nearly 8 years now. We both love to get out into the mountains for some big days as well as relaxing in beautiful places. We both really enjoy wild swimming and hiking, and pretty much all things outdoors! Alice is into cooking, baking, knitting and Tom is into surfing, rugby and is currently converting a van into a camper. We also have a shared interest in and are both just beginning to explore woodworking and whittling.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Gluten intolerant

Photos

Feedback