Alfred

From: South Africa

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    South Africa

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/05/2020 - 31/08/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I'm Alfred, an Illustrator and Graphic & Web designer trying to balance my time working in front of a screen with learning how to grow my own food, take care of animals, lift heavy objects and increase my practical knowledge with real skills learned from real people in order to be more self-sustainable.

    I will gladly share my skills as a Web designer / Graphic Designer / Illustrator as well as my time and energy for the chance to learn as much as I can during our Workaway exchange!

    My dream is to live off-grid, and what better way to learn than by immersing oneself in that experience and finding out what such a lifestyle is truly about.

    Originally from Limpopo, South Africa.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Professional:
    - Web design
    - Graphic design
    - Illustration (traditional & digital)
    - E-commerce marketing
    - Experience teaching English as a foreign language
    Linguistic:
    - Afrikaans (native)
    - English (fluent)
    - Spanish (upper-intermediate)
    - Portuguese (intermediate)
    Practical:
    - Carpentry (I've made a small table & cupboard, however much guidance and training is still needed)
    - Experience in vegetable gardening
    - Scuba diving
    - Cooking
    - Fishing experience
    - Hunting experience
    - Hiking (completed several multiple-day hikes)
    - I know how to brew kambucha & kefir
    Attitude:
    I'm a simple man not in need of luxury items in order to feel at ease or comfortable, growing up closer to nature made me realise that from an early age. I believe in quality work over just getting things done and I try to live by Socrates's famous quote - "The only true wisdom is knowing you know nothing". I may seem quiet and reserved at times but you will generally find me smiling and in a positive mood with a good sense of humour always intact.

  • Languages spoken

    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    I work remotely for a design agency around 8 hours per day, my hours are flexible and can be shifted according to the needs of my Workaway host, however I will require internet access nearby or a location with signal to connect my modum to the internet.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback