Alexandra

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    Travelling

  • Description

    I have been traveling and volunteering for the majority of the past four years. I have been able to sustain this travel by finding seasonal gigs and through my work online as a writer. Most of my travels have been done in the states by camper van/truck, however I have managed to get some backpacking in abroad as well.

    My volunteer/work trade experiences have opened me up to the world of farming, animal care, communal living, and so much more. I'm hoping to homestead and live off the land one day so I'm very interested in learning anything to do with self-sustainability. I'd love to learn about permaculture, regenerative agriculture, food preservation, and more.

    I'm passionate about animal care and rescue. I'm a vegan myself and I am interested in learning how sanctuaries/rescues operate as well as animal care in general. I have a special spot in my heart for horses and would love to learn more about equine care and of course riding.

    Please know that not all of my work exchanges have been through WorkAway, and I have more experience than my references imply. I have also done exchanges through HelpX, Volunteer Latin America, and by reaching out to communities and organizations myself.

    I have a home-made truck camper so I don't require housing, just a place to park! Plugging in is nice but not necessary as I travel with a solar panel. My pet (cat) journeys with me, however she mostly sticks to the camper and is always leashed and attended to when outside. If it is very hot or very cold where I am camped I may require to plug in to run a moderate amount of AC/heat. Small use of the furnace on solar is okay.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    DIY & crafts
    Writing

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    DIY and building projects
  • More details about your skills

    I went to school for business and have worked in admin, marketing, and sales. I have worked front desk, host, and hospitality at retreat centers. I picked up some time in kitchen prep at these centers as well.

    I have experience working in gardens, minimal experience with animal care and am very interested in learning in learning more about both.

    I have a ton of experience with kids from daycares and nannying to teaching dance for all ages and aerial skills to the older kids.

    I am a writer and have done press releases and website blurbs for non-profits and communities.

    I’m a pretty diverse person and have a ton of interests. I’ll be excited to learn about any task you throw my way.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I’m a native English speaker looking to increase my comfort level with conversational Spanish

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    27

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I’m a vegan- no meat, dairy, or eggs

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback