Alex

  • Netherlands
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Top Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    Activities i am interested in:

    Help out, improve my Spanish, extend physical skills, experience living in a community and other ways of living, learning organic building / agriculture, processing harvests into products.

    My next destination:

    Zaragoza, Spain
    View all
  • Description

    Helloo! Cool that you're interested to know more about me. We share the curiosity for other people. Enjoy reading and don't hesitate to reach out if you just wanna have a chitchat. It might just lead to us meeting up someday and before you know we have crossed the pyrenees from east to west, created a community and went on a 5000 kilometer journey on horseback....¿Por qué no?

    My trip:
    I've travelled down the French coast into Spain while WorkAwaying and WWOOFing and enjoying the different landscapes, people, cuisines and cultures. As of the end of February 2022 I will arrive in the south of Spain (Granada) where I will continue with helping people and I aim to work/travel around in the South and back North again towards Valencia along with the movement of Spring and Summer. I prefer to skip small steps from host to host over large distances, however, nothing is set in stone. So, in case you have interesting projects that have common ground with my likings do reach out and I'll see what I can do :)

    My main goals:
    * Improve Spanish (I practice every day)
    * Learn lots of (physical) skills
    * Experience different ways of living
    * Work together, help out, share everything and have fun!

    About me:
    * I get energy from really connecting with people. Not the basic, superficial talks about the weather or keeping up appearance but really talking about what drives you in life, your struggles, things you care about/have learnt/want to learn.
    * Apparently (as people told me) I am openhearted, sharing a lot of my own experiences, insights, things I like etc. and as a result of that people feel at ease with me to share their stories. Which is of course what I am curious about! :D
    * I've been working for more than three years in the corporate world and now I've decided to do things differently. That basically means I'm in the middle of transitioning my life more in line with myself and my values. I've already switched my finances to an ethical bank (Triodos) and now I'm reading a lot about the past, present and future of the (global) economy.

    About the work:
    * As mentioned I wish to learn lots of physical skills. Examples that I curious about are eco-DIY, permaculture, turning harvests into products and food, increasing my variety of vegetarian / vegan cooking etc.
    * Cultural Skills: ​(Spanish) dancing, Spanish culture, theatre, playing an instrument, make more use of my creativity (currently I am creative in a mental way such as creating puzzles or playing with words)

    So far I have learnt that:
    * I prefer to work TOGETHER on a bigger project instead of working on my own on lots of different small tasks.
    * Since I like to learn things I appreciate it if you explain your plans or the reasoning behind the things you want me to do. This allows me to think along or question your way of thinking and has shown to be of value to a couple of hosts.
    * I would like to know the day before what we will be doing the day after, allowing me to plan other activities around.

    As I am aware that it is not always possible to meet my wishes, in such case, I appreciate honesty upfront so I can choose to accept it or not.

    In case you are interested in more references, I also have some on Couchsurfing, search for Alex Pielaet
    In case you wish to see what I did in my working life you can find me on Linkedin https://www.linkedin.com/in/alexpielaet/

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    DIY & crafts
    Books

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Charity Work
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Life at a Farmstay
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    - I have experience with using machines like a chainsaw, brush cutter, powerdrill, jackhammer, angle grinder etc.

    - I have basic gardening experience

    - I'm economical with resources and like to (re-)use what's available

    - While working on a task I will signal things to you that might be valuable to know. This is because I care about the end result and the bigger picture.

    - Given time I always amaze myself when it comes to fixing things such as fixing a shoe cabinet while simultaneously mounting a power socket into it to charge devices as well as a power source for my coffee machine, thereby turning it into a power station for me and my devices! ;)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    - I mainly want to improve my Spanish but if I can improve my French and or German as well I will not let that opportunity pass by ;) - I am quite interested in learning other people English as I always try to improve my vocabulary and search for grammatic rules etc.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    31

  • What else ...

    - I like to play around with words, letters and languages. That is also why I make puns and wordplays and can make quick, witty remarks in the moment (if I could only earn a living that way... ;))
    - I'm adventurous as I've been on hitchhiking trips throughout Europe and intend to do more of these for a longer period of time in the future. During these trips I've used Couchsurfing which has brought me so much.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Plastic in nature

    • Special dietary requirements
      I prefer Vegetarian and Vegan

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Competition photos

Feedback