Alexandre Heitor & Betina Röhsler

From: Brazil

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Hungary, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/07/2018 - 18/05/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1340

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

Watch my profile video


  • Description

    Hello and welcome to our profile! :)

    We encourage you to read our profile in its entirety (all sections), since we made a huge effort to describe ourselves as accurately as possible, so that you can have a good picture of who will be coming to your place. Have fun and please do not hesitate in asking any questions you may have.

    We have a website where we try to document our adventures: http://journeytoinnerself.tk/en/
    And we also put online some videos of what we've been doing: https://tinyurl.com/alex-and-betina

    Ok, so let us describe ourselves a bit:

    I'm Alex (Taurus, 41 years old) and Betina (Libra, 32 years old) is my girlfriend. We're a Brazilian couple who've been workawaying since July/2018, during which time we acquired a good experience in many areas (check the 'What else' section below for a detailed list of what we've been doing).

    We love to travel and to meet new people, specially for cultural exchange.

    I'm a computer engineer and Betina is a biologist, but we changed our lives and left our formal jobs. I discovered yoga, ayurveda and fell in love about it. On the road, I'm still working with software development as a freelancer. Betina worked for some years in a preparatory school until she decided to leave her job and become a Theta-healer.
    We met in an International Yoga Meeting and found out we were both looking for a healthier and more spiritual way of life. Since then, we also became Reikians (level I).

    We're friendly, well-humored, reliable, respectful and easygoing people, trying to be away from prejudice at all times and eager to learn. We're not afraid of work. In fact we work hard whenever needed, but we also try to have the "no harm" attitude always present.

    We're specially interested in any project aiming for a better world, namely permaculture, off-grid living techniques, organic farming, bioconstruction, earthship-like houses and self-healing techniques (such as yoga, meditation, reiki, theta-healing, aromatherapy, ayurveda and so on). We like cycling, hiking, local culture, local food, music... Not necessarily in that order. :)

    We're vegetarians (we don't eat meat (beef, chicken, fish, lamb, etc)). We're not vegan (we eat eggs, honey, cheese, milk, etc). Alex eats any kind of vegetarian food. Betina doesn't like raisings, jams, avocado and porridge.

    TO SEE OUR WORKAWAY EXPERIENCE, CHECK THE 'WHAT ELSE' SECTION.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Alex is a computer engineer who works with web/software development (not to be confused with web designer) and works online. Besides that, he's good with general indoor/outdoor works, such as fixing things, weeding, chopping wood, using the strimmer, taking care of gardens, pet sitting, house cleaning and so on. He's also a careful driver. His main interests are in permaculture, organic farming, ayurveda, yoga, reiki, aromatherapy and all self-healing techniques. He's also a musician, with good drumming skills and he can play acoustic guitar.

    Betina is a biologist who currently works with online theta healing and reiki sessions. She's also good with indoor/outdoor works, such as cooking (she's a good cook), cleaning, tidying, weeding, taking care of gardens, pet sitting, etc. Her main interests are in theta healing, reiki, aromatherapy and all self-healing techniques, as well as cooking, craft-work and communication.

  • Languages spoken

    Alex: Portuguese, English, some Spanish; Betina: Portuguese, average English, some Spanish.

  • Age

    41 & 32

  • Nationality

    Brazilian

  • What else ...

    Betina use to say 'our religion is love and nature is our temple'. I think this speaks a lot about ourselves. We're after a healthy life-style, in both spiritual and material aspects. Having nature as our temple, we want to cause as little harm as we can, without being environmental-picky people. We don't like animal harming/slaughtering, using pesticides and so on.

    Please keep in touch should you have any questions about us. We're very happy to answer. If you want to know more about us, don't forget to have a look on our website at http://journeytoinnerself.tk/en/.

    OUR WORKAWAY EXPERIENCE:

    Aug/2018: We stayed in a "quinta" (farmhouse) near Pena, in Portugal. There, we experienced life off-the-grid, working with remote internet stations, photo-voltaic energy, water pump installation, weeding, plumbing, general construction (ground leveling, sidewalk build), general housekeeping, compost toilet maintenance and pet sitting.

    Sep/2018: We alternated between Fafe and Cavez, helping in a vineyard farm, with all kinds of tasks, from house keeping to wood chopping, gardening, watering plants and harvesting grapes.

    Oct/2018: We went to the Algarve, Portugal, to work in the carob harvest, as well as taking care of the host's house and his cat while he traveled to Germany for one week.

    Nov/2018: We traveled to Macroom, Ireland and did house sitting, weeded polytunnels, cleaned the house's garden, fixed things in house and took care of dogs, cats and hens.

    Dec/2018 - part 1: We moved to Great Missenden, England, UK, to help packing a house for the owner to move. There, we also cooked almost every day, kept the house clean, pet-sited a dog, repaired wall holes and bedroom doors, painted, fixed electric appliances, gave Reiki to the owner and to a friend workawayer who stayed with us.

    Dec/2018 - part 2: We travelled to Westbury-On-Severn, UK to help a lovely family in tasks as weeding their gardens, preparing some wood planks for a yoga studio wall and general help around and inside the house. We also took care of their children some times.

    Dec/2018 - part 3: We took care of a house in Loughborough, UK. During the time we deep-cleaned the house, painted the owner's bedroom, mended their bikes, cleaned their car and took care of their cats.

    Jan/2019 - Feb/2019: We stayed for 6 weeks at a slaughter-free Krishna dairy farm in Wing, Rutland, UK. We took care of the farm and milked 9 cows every morning. We also kept the barns clean and the milking container sanitized properly.

    Feb/2019 - Mar/2019: We moved to Vienna, Austria, and helped the house owner with daily chores, like cleaning, fitting curtains, cooking, tidying things up, etc.

    Mar/2019: We went to a farm in Táborfalva, Hungary. There, we helped replacing old fences, feeding the animals (dogs, cat, horses, chicken), taking care of the house and the owner's children.

    Apr-May/2019: We went to Koppányszántó, Hungary and stayed in a motorhome camping, helping the owners keep the campsite going. Alex operated the strimmer, while Betina removed weeds. We also helped fixing things on the campsite, chatting with campers while the owners were cooking, served the bar, etc.

    May-Jun-Jul/2019: We moved to Cluj-Napoca, Romania, where we stayed in a hostel for about 40 days. There, we had to do the beds, do the laundry, clean the bathrooms, toilets, kitchen and common areas, give information to guests, take care of the garden, mow the lawn, shop and cook for the volunteers and set the breakfast for guests. Alex also fixed some things like doors, the stove's spark button and non-working burners, garden lights and the laundry machine's door.

    Jul/2019: We went to Deva, Romania, to take care of a house (plus a dog and a cat) and do general maintenance and cleaning in and outside.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      We're vegetarians (we don't eat beef, chicken, fish, lamb, etc). We're not vegan (we eat eggs, honey, cheese, milk, etc). Alex eats any kind of vegetarian food. Betina doesn't like raisings, jams, avocado and porridge.

Photos

I'm drinking a "chimarrão", a typical drink from Southern Brazil. It's basically boiling water inside a wood cup filled with Yerba mate (Ilex paraguariensis).
Cutting glass bottles for later use in cob wall. Pena, Portugal, Aug/2018.
Installing a water pump. And it worked! Pena, Portugal, Aug/2018.
Walking adorable dogs Ginger and Tuga. Pena, Portugal, Aug/2018.
Rock sidewalk we made using "xisto" stones. Pena, Portugal, Aug/2018.
Betina checking the alfarroba harvest bags.
Alex shaking the tree and dropping the alfarrobas to the ground for collecting.
Collecting alfarrobas onto the buckets.
Linda teaching Alex and Betina to sew
Alex walking the dogs in Macaroon, Ireland.
Volunteering at a slaughter-free dairy farm near Wing, UK.

Feedback