Alex

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2020 - 28/03/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    364

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    August 2020 update: I'm navigating these uncertain times, trying to roll with the punches and stay in the present while also reminding myself this won't last forever. I was planning to be traveling abroad this summer but for now I'm in the States, making the best of it! I very much believe in science and am doing everything I can to keep myself and the people around me safe.

    WHAT I USED TO DO: I grew up in the Boston area, and moved to New York when I was 17. I went to school for film and animation, and spent 4 years after college working in children's TV as a designer, but I've worked all sorts of other odd jobs along the way. After living with roommates in New York for almost 10 years, I began to long for a place of my own - and I wanted to travel as well and see more of the country, since I'd been on the East Coast all my life. Vandwelling seemed like the perfect solution!

    WHAT I DO NOW: I split my time between the East and West coast, and live in my van when I'm out West. I'm a jack of all trades, and I'm always trying to level up my skill set - I'm interested in auto mechanics/detailing, carpentry and set building, boatbuilding/sailing, dog care/training, and permaculture/off grid living to name just a few! September and October usually find me in Halloween mode which for me means working on haunted attractions (I WILL talk your ear off about this if you let me!) I do animation design on a freelance basis, and in my down time I love to write, cook, surf and play my guitar. I'm a pretty good cook FYI :)

    VOLUNTEER EXPERIENCE:
    In New York, I volunteered for Habitat for Humanity, and also did beach cleanups and citizen science projects with the Audubon Society. I volunteered on ships, helping restore and sail historic vessels. At Burning Man, I volunteered with the Zendo project, doing peer counseling and building a camp. I worked at a co-op in California, doing building projects and farm work, and I helped take care of dogs in Colorado, including two new litters of puppies! I've also volunteered at numerous festivals and live events, most recently Envision in Costa Rica (right before the pandemic hit...that was a good time!)

    BUT THERE'S MORE!
    I'm warm, open, non-judgemental, and adventurous. I tend to like hands-on work. I can handle most things you throw at me, more or less (and if I don't know how to do something yet, I'll learn it fast!) I'm fairly perfectionistic when it comes to work. The downside of this is that I don't always work fast, but the upside is that it's never sloppy. I'm a self-motivated hard worker...I live by the principle, "whatever you are, be a good one!" I'm an introvert, so having my quiet alone time is very important, but I'm not shy or reclusive by any means. I love connecting with people, learning their stories, and contributing whatever I can. Also, not to toot my own horn, but I'm REALLY good at organizing stuff...so if you need to declutter/optimize a space, I'm your guy.

    WHAT I'M LOOKING FOR:
    I want to practice and improve the skills I'm working on, and contribute to something meaningful. I don't need lodgings, because I live in my van (I could definitely use internet and a parking spot though, and a shower is always welcome!) I would really love to find a community with a place for my van to stay when I'm back East, ideally so that someone else could use it when I'm not there!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    basic building/repair skills, cleaning, cooking, painting, deliveries, general maintenance, yard maintenance, people skills, organizational skills, cooking, graphic design, art skills, dog walking/care, research etc...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. Please contact them directly to discuss this with them.

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I happen to be trans (FTM)! If you have a bias or hatred against LGBT people, we probably won't be a good match!
    I am also deaf, and rely on assistive technology to communicate. It works well, but occasionally I miss things. Believe me, I'm not ignoring you!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nope!

    • Special dietary requirements
      Nope!

Photos

Feedback